The Tenge Index: January 16 – 20, 2023

Following the results of last Friday, The Tenge Index strengthened the growth of the previous week (January 9-13, 2023). This is largely due to the tenge strengthening against the Russian ruble. The exchange rate dynamics are explained by the belated reaction of the tenge to the past ruble weakening against world currencies amid the sanctions imposed. In the future, the growth of the discount on Urals crude oil may prompt Russia to respond by reducing production and weakening the Russian ruble simultaneously.

The lack of more response to the  global dollar weakening position and the rising cost of oil may be a sign of the initial restrengthening of the tenge.

Oil prices, with optimism due to forecasts for an increase in demand from China for energy sources, as well as limited supply against the background of anti-Russian sanctions, continue to rise for the second week in a row. We believe that the next week will not bring any special changes to the oil market, since the celebration of the Chinese New Year will temporarily reduce the demand for fuel from China. However, the demand may increase rapidly with the resumption of factories in China, and this will cause both fears among consumers and hope among sellers of energy resources on world markets.

At the same time, the Fed’s upcoming meeting is also a potential factor for a temporary increase in world market volatility. Since earlier the Fed’s management has signalled to the market about slowing down the rate hikes, and another increase of 50 bps may come as a surprise to the market.

You can go through the dynamics of the Tenge Index changes at: https://jusananalytics.kz/en/kztxja/

We recommend reading
24 January 2023

12 January 2023

11 January 2023

Индекс Тенге: 16–20 января 2023

По итогам прошедшей пятницы Индекс тенге укрепил рост предыдущей недели (9-13 января 2023). Это в большей степени объясняется укреплением тенге по отношению к российскому рублю. Динамика курса сейчас определяется запоздалой реакцией тенге на прошедшее ослабление рубля по отношению к мировым валютам на фоне вводимых санкций. В дальнейшем рост дисконта на нефть марки Urals может побудить Россию отреагировать сокращением добычи и одновременным ослаблением российского рубля.

Отсутствие большего отклика в ответ на слабеющие позиции глобального доллара и растущую стоимость нефти может быть признаком изначальной переукрепленности тенге.

Цены на нефть на фоне оптимизма из-за прогнозов по увеличению спроса со стороны Китая на энергоносители, а также ограниченного предложения на фоне антироссийских санкций продолжают расти вторую неделю подряд. Полагаем, что будущая неделя особых изменений на рынок нефти не принесет, так как празднование китайского Нового года временно сократит спрос на топливо со стороны Поднебесной. Однако при возобновлении работы заводов в Китае спрос может стремительно возрасти, что создаст на мировых рынках одновременно страх у потребителей и надежды у продавцов энергоресурсов.

Вместе с этим будущее заседание ФРС также является потенциальным фактором временного роста волатильности на мировых рынках. Еще одно повышение на 50 б.п. может стать сюрпризом для рынка, так как ранее руководство ФРС давало сигнал рынку о замедлении темпов повышения ставок.

С динамикой изменения Индекса тенге можете ознакомиться на нашем сайте по ссылке: https://jusananalytics.kz/kztxja/

Рекомендуем почитать
24 января 2023

12 января 2023

11 января 2023