Tenge Index

Jusan Analytics team calculated the Tenge Index (KZTX JA)

The Index is calculated as the geometric weighted average of tenge exchange rates against foreign currencies (dollar, ruble, euro) multiplied by a scaling factor that brings the Index value to 100 on the base date of the index calculation (December 2018). We do not consider the earlier period, as we believe that from 2016 to 2018, exchange rate formation has adapted to new conditions – the floating exchange rate regime.

KZTX JA = 13 481,2*KZTUSD0.65*KZTRUB0.25*KZTEUR0.1

The formed Index reflects the purchasing power of tenge to the main foreign currencies used in trade and transfers. Thus, with the help of the Index, it is possible to judge the tenge strength, and not only concerning a specific currency. Accordingly, the growth of the tenge Index means the strengthening of the tenge against the major currencies, while the decline means the loss of the purchasing power of the domestic currency.

Coefficients reflect the currency structure of the Tenge Index:

  • US dollar – 65%;
  • Russian ruble – 25%;
  • Euro – 10%.

The selected distribution of shares for the Tenge Index reflects the average currency structure:

  • Kazakhstan’s trade turnover with the main trading partners,
  • currency payments and transfers,
  • currency transactions on the exchanging currency market and the cash foreign exchange market.

Even though there is a significant share between China and the European Union in trade, the main currency of payments in trade transactions is the US dollar. The currency structure will be reviewed by us no more than once every 2-3 years.

The Tenge Index can be used to analyze the behavior of the national currency to individual currency pairs and to understand what its dynamics is related: to the tenge strengthening itself or the weakening of a single foreign currency.

A detailed overview of the dynamics of the Tenge Index (KZTX JA), explanation and impact will be published within the Weekly Forex Review.


Interactive dashboards related to the dynamics of the Tenge Index are shown below. We recommend you using the desktop version of the browser or switching to the “PC Version” from the mobile version for comfortable reading. The setting can be found in the mobile browser menu – three dots in the right corner.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

The Index allows you to assess the level of personal inflation and purchasing power of residents of Astana and Almaty cities

21 November 2022

Jusan Analytics team calculated he Export Price Index for the main goods of Kazakhstan (XPI JA)

5 November 2022

Jusan Analytics team calculated the Consumer Activity Index

Индекс тенге

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс тенге (KZTX JA)

Индекс рассчитывается как среднее геометрическое взвешенное курсов тенге к иностранным валютам (доллар, рубль, евро), умноженное на поправочный коэффициент, который приводит значение Индекса к 100 на базовую дату расчета индекса (декабрь 2018 года). Более ранний период мы не рассматриваем, так как считаем, что с 2016 по 2018 годы курсообразование адаптировалось к новым условиям – режиму плавающего обменного курса.

KZTX JA = 13 481,2*KZTUSD0.65*KZTRUB0.25*KZTEUR0.1

Сформированный индекс отражает покупательную способность тенге по отношению к основным иностранным валютам, используемым в торговле и переводах. Таким образом, с помощью индекса можно судить об общей силе тенге, а не только по отношению к конкретной валюте. Соответственно рост Индекса тенге означает укрепление тенге к основным валютам, тогда как снижение означает потерю покупательской способности отечественной валюты.

Степенные коэффициенты отражают валютную структуру Индекса тенге:

  • Доллар США – 65%;
  • Российский рубль – 25%;
  • Евро – 10%.

Выбранное распределение долей для Индекса тенге отражает усредненную валютную структуру:

  • товарооборота Казахстана с основными торговыми партнерами,
  • валютных платежей и переводов,
  • операций с валютой на биржевом валютном рынке и на рынке наличной валюты.

Несмотря на то, что в торговле присутствует значительная доля Китая и Европейского союза, основной валютой платежей в торговых сделках выступает доллар США. Валютная структура будет пересматриваться нами не чаще 1 раза в 2-3 года.

Индекс тенге может использоваться для анализа поведения национальной валюты к отдельным валютным парам и для понимания с чем связана ее динамика: с общим укреплением самого тенге или ослаблением отдельно взятой иностранной валюты.

Развернутый обзор по динамике Индекса тенге (KZTX JA), объяснение и влияние будет публиковаться в рамках Еженедельного обзора валютного рынка.


Ниже размещены интерактивные дашборды, посвященные динамике Индекса тенге. Для комфортного просмотра рекомендуем использовать десктопную версию браузера или перейти в “Версию для ПК” с мобильной версии. Настройку можно найти в меню мобильного браузера – три точки в правом углу.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

Индекс позволяет оценить уровень личной инфляции и покупательской способности жителей Астаны и Алматы

21 ноября 2022

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс экспортных цен на основные товары Казахстана (XPI JA)

5 ноября 2022

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс потребительской активности