Coal embargo

According to the draft Order of the Ministry of Industry and Infrastructure Development of the Republic of Kazakhstan (MIID) “On some regulation of coal export issues” a temporary coal embargo by road from the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan is provided for a period of 6 months. The ban is imposed due to the approaching start of the heating season and, as a result, the increasing demand for energy resources.

The MIID has developed a plan for the demand for coal products for municipal, household and public needs for 2022-2023 period, according to which the required volume is 9.6 million tons, of which 2.6 million tons are for households, and 7 million tons – for the public needs.

An increase in domestic demand with an increase in exports to other countries creates a temporary shortage in the coal market, which can provoke an increase in speculation and excessive demand from the population. In turn, this situation will lead to an increase in energy prices for the population. A temporary coil embargo by road is a non-tariff measure to stabilize the market.

Exports

In the first six months of 2022, the export of coal to the countries of the European Union has spiked by almost 2.5 times. During this period, 3.7 million tons were shipped to Switzerland (1.8 million tons in January-June 2021), 681 thousand tons to Poland (24.6 thousand tons), 494 thousand tons to Cyprus (10.4 thousand tons) and 214 thousand tons to Belgium (0 tons).

The increased demand for Kazakhstan coal appeared right after the imposition of European Union sanctions on the import of energy resources from the Russian Federation.

In the structure of coal exports in 2021, European countries accounted for about 18% of total exports, the EAEU countries – 77%, of which 66% were to Russia. In January-May 2022, Kazakhstan’s exports have already been reoriented: 33% were exported to European countries, 65% to the EAEU countries, including the Russian Federation – 62%.

Whether a temporary embargo on exports will be a sufficient measure to prevent a shortage of coal in the domestic market is open to question, since road transport accounts for a small part of exports and is directed to neighboring countries. Moreover, despite transportation costs, favorable conditions in foreign markets may encourage coal mining companies to prioritize exports over the domestic market.


[1] HS 2701 Coal; briquettes, pellets and similar solid fuels obtained from hard coal

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Запрет на вывоз угля

Согласно проекту приказа Министерства индустрии и инфраструктурного развития РК (МИИР) «О некоторых вопросах регулирования вывоза угля», предусматривается временный запрет на вывоз автомобильным транспортом каменного угля[1] с территории Республики Казахстан сроком на 6 месяцев. Запрет вводится из-за приближающегося начала отопительного сезона и, как результат, возрастающего спроса на энергоресурсы.

МИИР сформировало план потребности угольной продукции для коммунально-бытовых нужд и населения на период 2022-2023 годы, согласно которому необходимый объем составляет 9.6 млн тонн, из них 2.6 млн тонн – на бытовые нужды, 7 млн тонн – для населения.

Увеличение внутреннего спроса при наращивании экспорта в другие страны создает временный дефицит на рынке угля, что может спровоцировать рост спекуляций и ажиотажный спрос населения. В свою очередь, такая ситуация приведет к росту цен на энергоресурсы для населения. Временный запрет на вывоз угля автотранспортом является нетарифной мерой для стабилизации рынка.

Экспорт

За первые шесть месяцев 2022 года резко вырос экспорт каменного угля в страны Европейского союза – практически в 2.5 раза. За данный период было отгружено: 3.7 млн тонн в Швейцарию (1.8 млн тонн в январе-июне 2021 году), 681 тыс. тонн в Польшу (24.6 тыс. тонн), 494 тыс. тонн в Кипр (10.4 тыс. тонн) и 214 тыс. тонн в Бельгию (0 тонн).

Повышенный спрос к казахстанскому углю появился сразу после наложения санкций Европейского союза на импорт энергоресурсов из Российской Федерации.

В структуре экспорта угля за 2021 год на страны Европы приходилось около 18% от общего экспорта, на страны ЕАЭС – 77%, из которых 66% – на Россию. За январь-май 2022 года, уже наблюдается переориентация казахстанского экспорта: 33% составил экспорт в страны Европы, 65% – страны ЕАЭС, в том числе РФ – 62%.

Будет ли временный запрет на вывоз достаточной мерой для предотвращения дефицита угля на внутреннем рынке остается под вопросом, так как автомобильные перевозки составляют малую часть экспорта и направлены на страны ближнего зарубежья. Более того, несмотря на транспортные издержки, благоприятная конъюнктура на внешних рынках может стимулировать угледобывающие компании приоритизировать экспорт над внутренним рынком.


[1] ТНВЭД 2701 Уголь каменный; брикеты, окатыши и аналогичные виды твердого топлива, полученные из каменного угля

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022