Trends in consumer lending

According to the National Bank of Kazakhstan, the total loans of the population amounted to 13.4 trillion tenge. The growth since the beginning of the year amounted to 2.6 trillion tenge or 25%, while in 2021 the growth of retail loans amounted to 43%. We note that consumer loans include auto loans, unsecured and secured loans.

DateTotal retail loansConsumerMortgageOthers
20122 8551 504920432
20133 6262 201980444
20144 0152 582992442
20154 1642 6171 030516
20164 0422 5371 087417
20174 5412 9231 214404
20185 3033 3181 426559
20196 6614 2111 882569
20207 5264 3912 490645
202110 7396 1473 4931 098
10М 202213 3797 3024 5861 490

Installments

The most popular consumer loans are installments. The demand for unsecured consumer loans increased by 10% in the 3rd quarter of 2022, and the volume of applications amounted to 12 million and has reached the historical maximum. This growth is explained by an increase in consumer spending and increasing financing of spending through leverage.

At the same time, despite the increase in the number of applications, the approval level remained at 38%. In other words, banks approve only 3-4 out of 10 applications. The average amount of applications for unsecured consumer lending increased by 17%, which is within inflation and amounted to 669 thousand tenge (2.2 average wages in Kazakhstan).

Mortgage

The mortgage loan portfolio has grown by 2 times over the past 2 years, and the demand for such loans has increased by the same amount just over the year. However, we see a decrease in the level of approval by banks. The average approval rate in 2022 was 43%, while the average approval rate was 76% for the same period last year. And the level of approval will decrease with the outstripping growth in housing prices and low growth of real income of the population.

Auto loans

The demand for auto loans also increased in Q3. We observe increased demand among the population for car purchases with a low level of approval. The average approval rate in 2022 was 11%, which is significantly lower than the approval level for other retail loans.

As a result, consumer loans remain the main driver of retail loan growth. The current level of household inflation expectations contributes, and the focus of bank advertising campaigns will lead to an even greater increase in consumer lending. Thus, the retail loan portfolio will continue to grow.

We recommend reading
25 January 2023

Jusan Analytics imagines what will happen if to change some important circumstances in life and the economy. Disclaimer: this work is the author's fantasy, situations or conclusions are hypothetical.

18 January 2023

11 January 2023

Тренды в потребительском кредитовании

Согласно данным НБРК, совокупные кредиты населения составили 13.4 трлн тенге. Рост с начала года составил 2.6 трлн тенге или 25%, при этом в 2021 году рост розничных займов составил 43%. Отметим, что потребительские кредиты включают в себя автокредиты, беззалоговые и залоговые займы.

ДатаВсего розничных займовПотребительскиеИпотечныеПрочие
20122 8551 504920432
20133 6262 201980444
20144 0152 582992442
20154 1642 6171 030516
20164 0422 5371 087417
20174 5412 9231 214404
20185 3033 3181 426559
20196 6614 2111 882569
20207 5264 3912 490645
202110 7396 1473 4931 098
10М 202213 3797 3024 5861 490

Рассрочки

Самыми популярными среди потребительских займов являются рассрочки. В 3 квартале 2022 года спрос на потребительские беззалоговые займы вырос на 10%, а объем заявок составил 12 млн, обновив исторический максимум. Подобный рост объясняется увеличением потребительских расходов населения и все большим финансированием трат за счет кредитного рычага.

При этом, несмотря на рост количества заявок, уровень одобрения остался на уровне 38%. Иными словами, из 10 поступивших заявок банки одобряют только 3-4. Средняя сумма заявки на беззалоговое потребительское кредитование выросла на 17%, что в пределах инфляции, и составила 669 тыс. тенге (2.2 средних зарплат по Казахстану).

Ипотека

За последние 2 года портфель ипотечных займов вырос в 2 раза, на столько же за год вырос и спрос на подобные займы. Однако, со стороны банков мы наблюдаем снижения уровня одобрения. Средний уровень одобрения в 2022 году составил 43%, при этом за аналогичный период прошлого года средний уровень одобрения составил 76%. При опережающем росте цен на жилье и низком приросте реальных доходов населения, мы будем наблюдать снижение уровня одобрения.

Автокредитование

В 3 квартале также вырос спрос на автокредитование. Мы наблюдаем повышенный спрос среди населения на покупку авто, при этом низкий уровень одобрения. Средний уровень одобрения в 2022 году составил 11%, что существенно ниже уровня одобрения по остальным розничным займам.

В итоге главным драйвером роста розничных кредитов остаются потребительские займы. Нынешний уровень инфляционных ожиданий населения способствует, а также фокус рекламных кампаний банков приведет к еще большему росту потребительского кредитования. В результате портфель розничных займов продолжит расти.

Рекомендуем почитать
25 января 2023

Jusan Analytics представляет, что будет, если изменить некоторые важные обстоятельства в жизни и экономике. Дисклеймер: эта работа является фантазией автора, ситуации или выводы носят гипотетический характер.

18 января 2023

11 января 2023