CPC work has suspended for the third time in 2022

On July 6, 2022, the Primorsky District Court decided to suspend activities of the Caspian Pipeline Consortium-P (CPC) JSC for 30 days. It is the third stop of the pipeline since the beginning of the year.

CPC is the main export route of Kazakh oil to the international market. About 80% of all crude oil from Kazakhstan is transported in this direction. In general, more than 90% of Kazakhstan’s oil is transported through the territory of Russia.

The figure shows: the volume of exports for 2021 (million tons) and the maximum/design capacity (million tons/year) of oil pipelines

Against favorable international energy market conditions the loss of profit through CPC will cost 5% of an annual budget revenue. It will be a highly influential force in the economy of Kazakhstan, especially considering that oil occupies 52% of the country’s export positions.

 

In our view, due to the lack of proper transport and transit infrastructure it will be difficult for Kazakhstan to diversify oil exports in the near future. An international consortium, which includes Russia, Kazakhstan and leading mining companies in the world (Russia – 24%, KazMunayGas National Company JSC – 19%, Chevron Caspian Pipeline Consortium Company – 15%, LUKOIL INTERNATIONAL GmbH – 12.5%, Mobil Caspian Pipeline Company – 7.5%, Rosneft-Shell Caspian Ventures Limited – 7.5%, CPC Company – 7%, BG Overseas Holdings Ltd – 2%, Eni International N.A. N.V. S.ar.l. – 2%, Kazakhstan Pipeline Ventures LLC– 1.75%, Oryx Caspian Pipeline LLC– 1.75%), it is necessary to settle the matter with the suspension of CPC as soon as possible.

 

In addition, Kazakhstan need to diversify the energy resources supply that transit through the infrastructure of the Russian Federation in order to compensate for financial losses. There are alternative ways to export oil through the Atyrau-Samara pipeline and in the direction of China. However, these directions are limited and require a pipeline capacity increase.

 

In the near-term and long term outlooks, Kazakh oil can be transported to the West through the Baku–Tbilisi–Ceyhan oil pipeline. However, this route also requires capital-intensive investments and the purchase of oil tankers for transportation to the port of Baku.

 

Moreover, Kazakhstan exports oil not only to the West, but also to the East to China. In the Chinese direction, it is necessary to increase the capacity of the Atasu-Alashankou oil pipeline – a part of Kazakhstan–China trunk oil pipelines general system.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Работа КТК приостановлена в третий раз за 2022 год

6 июля 2022 года постановлением Приморского районного суда приостановлена деятельность АО «Каспийский Трубопроводный Консорциум-Р» (КТК) на 30 суток. Это уже третья остановка трубопровода с начала года.

КТК является основным экспортным маршрутом казахстанской нефти на международные рынки. По этому направлению транспортируются около 80% всей сырой нефти Казахстана, в целом через территорию России – более 90% казахстанской нефти.


На рисунке отражены: объем экспорта за 2021 год (млн тонн) и максимальная/проектная мощность (млн тонн/год) нефтепроводов

На фоне благоприятной международной конъюнктуры рынка энергоресурсов потеря прибыли через КТК будет стоить 5% годового дохода бюджета. Это окажет достаточно болезненное влияние экономику Казахстана, особенно если учесть, что нефть занимает 52% в структуре экспортных позиций страны.

По нашему мнению, Казахстану в ближайшей перспективе будет сложно осуществить диверсификацию экспорта нефти из-за отсутствия должной транспортно-транзитной инфраструктуры. Международному консорциуму, в который входят Россия, Казахстан и ведущие мировые добывающие компании (РФ – 24%, АО Национальная компания «КазМунайГаз» – 19%, Шеврон Каспиэн Пайплайн Консорциум Компани – 15%, ЛУКОЙЛ ИНТЕРНЕШНЛ ГмбХ – 12.5%, Мобил Каспийская трубопроводная компания – 7.5%, Роснефть-Шелл Каспиэн Венчурс Лимитед – 7.5%, КТК Компани – 7%, БГ Оверсиз Холдингс Лтд – 2%, Эни Интернэшнл Н.А Н.В. С.ар.л. – 2%, КОО Казахстан Пайплайн Венчурс – 1.75%, Орикс Каспиан Пайплайн Лтд – 1.75%), необходимо как можно скорее урегулировать вопрос с приостановкой КТК.

Дополнительно, чтобы хоть как-то компенсировать финансовые потери особое внимание должно быть уделено необходимости диверсификации поставок энергоресурсов, которые идут транзитом через инфраструктуру РФ. На сегодняшний день есть альтернативные пути для экспорта нефти по трубопроводу Атырау-Самара, а также в направлении Китая. Однако эти направления ограничены и требуют увеличение пропускной способности.

В среднесрочной и долгосрочной перспективе транспортировка казахстанской нефти на Запад может быть реализована через нефтепровод Баку – Тбилиси – Джейхан. Однако этот маршрут также требует капиталоемких вложений и приобретения нефтеналивных танкеров для транспортировки до порта Баку.

Кроме того, Казахстан экспортирует нефть не только в западном, но и восточном направлении в Китай. По китайскому направлению необходимо наращивать мощности нефтепровода Атасу-Алашанькоу, который является частью общей системы магистральных нефтепроводов Казахстан – Китай.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022