Export Price Index

Jusan Analytics team calculated he Export Price Index for the main goods of Kazakhstan (XPI JA)

The Export Price Index includes key export goods of Kazakhstan, which are sold at the prices of international commodity exchanges: crude oil, natural gas, copper, uranium, wheat, zinc, silver, and aluminum. The Index is calculated as a geometric weighted average of the prices of 8 goods, considering their share in total exports and a scaling factor. The base value of the Index is 100 at December 2018 prices.

The Export Price Index reflects the change in world quotations of the main commodity groups of Kazakhstan’s exports in the current period in comparison with the baseline. With the help of the Index, it is possible to trace the influence of commodity market conditions on the general terms of trade of the country and, to a certain extent, assess the dynamics of export earnings as a result of changes in world prices (excluding physical export volumes).

Given the high commodity concentration of Kazakhstan’s exports, the Export Price Index excluding crude oil was additionally calculated for analytical purposes. The Index helps to assess the price dynamics of other goods that occupy a less significant share in exports. At the same time, foreign exchange earnings from their sale may affect the volume of foreign currency supply in Kazakhstan.

We note that the Index excluding crude oil is less volatile. This is due to its structure being evenly diversified, which reduces the impact of one product on the entire basket.

Power coefficients reflect the currency structure of the Export Price Index:

Product nameCodeXPI JA(LCO=78)XPI JA2(LCO=0)
OilLCO78.03%0.00%
GasNG6.08%27.69%
CopperHG5.59%25.46%
UraniumUXX4.15%18.90%
WheatLWB2.25%10.23%
ZincMZN1.47%6.70%
SilverSIZ1.28%5.83%
AluminumMAL1.14%5.19%

The chosen distribution of shares for the Export Price Index reflects the average structure of the export basket of Kazakhstan for the main goods. A sample set of goods is formed at the level of the FEACN 4 signs and based on the dependence of the export price on stock exchange quotations.


Interactive chart related to the dynamics of Export Price Index is shown below. We recommend you using the desktop version of the browser or switching to the “PC Version” from the mobile version for comfortable reading. The setting can be found in the mobile browser menu – three dots in the right corner.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

The Index allows you to assess the level of personal inflation and purchasing power of residents of Astana and Almaty cities

21 November 2022

Jusan Analytics team calculated the Tenge Index (KZTX JA)

5 November 2022

Jusan Analytics team calculated the Consumer Activity Index

Индекс экспортных цен

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс экспортных цен на основные товары Казахстана (XPI JA)

Индекс экспортных цен включает в себя основные экспортные товары Казахстана, которые продаются по ценам международных товарно-сырьевых бирж: сырая нефть, природный газ, медь, уран, пшеница, цинк, серебро, алюминий. Индекс рассчитывается как среднее геометрическое взвешенное цен 8 товаров с учетом их доли в общем экспорте и поправочным коэффициентом. Базовое значение Индекса составляет 100 по ценам декабря 2018 года.

Индекс экспортных цен отражает изменение мировых котировок основных товарных групп казахстанского экспорта в текущем периоде в сравнении с базисным. С помощью Индекса можно проследить влияние конъюнктуры товарных рынков на общие условия торговли страны и, в определенной степени, оценить динамику экспортных доходов в результате изменения мировых цен (без учета физических объемов экспорта).

Учитывая высокую товарную концентрацию экспорта Казахстана, для аналитических целей дополнительно был рассчитан Индекс экспортных цен без учета сырой нефти. Индекс помогает оценить динамику цен других товаров, которые занимают менее значительную долю в экспорте. При этом валютные поступления от их продажи могут в какой-то мере оказывать влияние на объем предложения иностранной валюты в Казахстане.

Примечательно, что Индекс без учета сырой нефти является менее волатильным. Это связано с тем, что его структура равномерно диверсифицирована, что позволяет снизить влияние одного отдельно взятого товара на всю корзину.

Степенные коэффициенты отражают валютную структуру Индекса экспортных цен:

Наименование товараКодXPI JA(LCO=78)XPI JA2(LCO=0)
НефтьLCO78.03%0.00%
ГазNG6.08%27.69%
МедьHG5.59%25.46%
УранUXX4.15%18.90%
ПшеницаLWB2.25%10.23%
ЦинкMZN1.47%6.70%
СереброSIZ1.28%5.83%
АлюминийMAL1.14%5.19%

Выбранное распределение долей для Индекса экспортных цен отражает усредненную структуру экспортной корзины Казахстана по основным товарам. Выборочная совокупность товаров формируется на уровне 4-знаков ТН ВЭД и на основе зависимости экспортной цены от биржевых котировок.


Ниже размещен интерактивный график, посвященный динамике Индекса экспортных цен. Для комфортного просмотра рекомендуем использовать десктопную версию браузера или перейти в “Версию для ПК” с мобильной версии. Настройку можно найти в меню мобильного браузера – три точки в правом углу.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

Индекс позволяет оценить уровень личной инфляции и покупательской способности жителей Астаны и Алматы

21 ноября 2022

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс тенге (KZTX JA)

5 ноября 2022

Команда Jusan Analytics рассчитала Индекс потребительской активности