Jusan Analytics developed Consumer Activity Index

The Consumer Activity Index developed by us shows during which period there was an increase in demand and how consumer activity changed relative to the peak values of the previous period.

So, in 2021, demand growth has been observed only since the second half of the year. The Index’s indicators during this period began to exceed the threshold value, which indicates a recovering economic activity in the country after a period of lockdowns and border closures.

Consumer activity noticeably fell due to the January events at the beginning of this year, but then the demand recovered quite quickly and activity was within the optimum. The first peak, exceeding the maximum values of consumption last year, was at the end of March. And in our opinion, this is connected with the celebration of Nauryz and long weekends.

Consumption has been sustainably growing since the summer period and the Index has become strongly above the maximum of last year (the value corresponding to 100%). All this is happening against the backdrop of rising inflation. Thus, the growth we observe may lead to an inflationary spiral in the economy. In our opinion, the national currency weakening and increasing inflation expectations could also contribute to this, which affects people’s behavior and their desire to buy more goods now while prices have not yet risen.

And since the peak values historically fall in September and December, we can suggest the subsequent increase in demand from the population, which will continue to put pressure on prices.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Jusan Analytics запустил Индекс потребительской активности

Разработанный нами Индекс потребительской активности показывает в какие периоды наблюдался рост спроса и как изменялась активность потребителей относительно пиковых значений прошлого периода.

Так, в 2021 году рост спроса отмечается лишь со второй половины года. Показатели индекса в этот период стали превышать пороговое значение, что говорит о восстанавливающийся экономической активности в стране после периода локдаунов и закрытия границ.

В начале текущего года потребительская активность заметно упала из-за январских событий в стране, но в последующем спрос довольно быстро восстановился и активность находилась в пределах оптимума. Первый пик, превышающий максимальные значения потребления прошлого года, пришелся на конец марта. Связано это, на наш взгляд, с празднованием Наурыза и длительными выходными.

Начиная с летнего периода потребление стало уверенно расти и Индекс стал стабильно находится выше максимума прошлого года (значение, соответствующее 100%). Все это происходит на фоне растущей инфляции. Таким образом, наблюдаемый нами рост может приводить к возникновению инфляционной спирали в экономике. Этому также, по нашему мнению, могло способствовать ослабление курса национальной валюты и возрастающие инфляционные ожидания, что влияет на поведение людей и желание приобрести больше товаров сейчас пока цены еще не выросли.

А поскольку пиковые значения исторически приходятся на сентябрь и декабрь, то можно сделать предположение о последующем росте спроса со стороны населения, что продолжит оказывать давление на цены.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022