US inflation and expectations for the FRS meeting

The inflation in the US is breaking all records and is at its highest levels for the last 40 years. Thus, in May of this year, consumer prices in the world’s largest economy had increased by 1.0% and by 8.6% in annual terms, which has been an absolute record since 1981.

Unprecedented price growth in the American economy, initially caused by the coronacrisis and disruptions in global supply chains, had accelerated in March this year amid a sharp rise in the FAO food price index (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations). In March 2022, the average value of the FAO Food Price Index rose to 159.3 points, which is the historical maximum since the index was created in 1990.


Source: Refinitiv, Financial Times

In terms of consumer prices, the largest growth was recorded for energy sources, which increased by 34% in annual terms. For example, the average cost of gasoline in the country exceeded $ 5 per gallon (= 3.78541 liters), an increase of more than 60% compared to the same period last year. The price leap was caused primarily by the global energy markets instability and unpredictability as a result of sanctions against the Russian oil and gas sector, the policies of OPEC+ countries, as well as changes in many traditional fuel export routes.

null

Food prices have risen by 12%, which is another record increase since 1979. Leading investment banks and analysts have not yet decided whether the current inflation level in the US is the ceiling or prices may go even higher.

Against the background of continued inflation, the US Federal Reserve System (FRS) has already given signals to the market and has begun to gradually soft monetary policy unwinding. So, in May of this year, the US Federal Reserve raised the interest rate by 5.0 p.p. to 0.75–1.0%. This is a record increase since 2000. In general, it is estimated that the FRS interest rate will be rising depending on market conditions and may reach 2.7% by the end of 2022.

However, the US Central Bank needs to combine its commitment to tame the inflation with the need to minimize side effects for the US economy, since an overly aggressive reaction of monetary policy can lead to an increase in recessive phenomena in the world’s largest economy.

US stock indexes traditionally have sensitive reaction to the key rate changes. Over the past week we have seen a sell-off in the market and the exit of most investors. Thus, market signals indicate the presence of significant uncertainty as a result of a lack of understanding of the regulators strategy and the prospects of the global economy and, in particular, the United States.

The American economy prospects may be worsened by too aggressive actions of the monetary regulator. And this may lead to more essential and long-term structural problems than the followed up inflation increase. At the same time, the FRS needs to define a clearer strategy of action in its rhetoric. Otherwise, the continued sales on stock markets may have a negative impact on the well-being of people and firms, forcing them to reduce their current consumption. Such behavior can serve as a trigger for the recessionary phenomena appearance without any restraining effect on inflation rate.

Following the inflation expectations, in our view, the US regulator may raise the Federal Funds rate by 0.5 p.p. at the next June meeting in order to show market participants its commitment to rein in inflation that has broken out of control. A significant number of analysts and experts believe that the FRS will raise the rate by 0.75 p.p., however, given the forecasts for global economic growth downward outlook revisions, as well as a number of consumer and business activity indicators in the United States, we consider this measure excessive.

We recommend reading
7 November 2022

17 October 2022

6 October 2022

Инфляция в США и ожидания по заседанию ФРС

Инфляция в США бьет все рекорды и находится на максимальных значениях за последние 40 лет. Так, в мае текущего года потребительские цены в крупнейшей экономике мира выросли на 1.0% и на 8.6% в годовом выражении, что является абсолютным рекордом с 1981 года.

Беспрецедентный рост цен в американской экономике, изначально вызванный коронакризисом и перебоями в глобальных цепочках поставок, ускорился в марте текущего года на фоне резкого подъема индекса продовольственных цен ФАО (Продовольственная и сельскохозяйственная организация ООН). В марте 2022 года среднее значение Индекса продовольственных цен ФАО выросло до 159.3 пункта, что является историческим максимумом с момента создания индекса в 1990 году.


Источник: Refinitiv, Financial Times

В разрезе потребительских цен наибольший рост зафиксирован на энергоносители, которые выросли на 34% в годовом выражении. К примеру, средняя стоимость бензина в стране превысила 5 долларов за галлон (= 3,78541 литра), увеличившись более чем на 60% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. Скачок вызван прежде всего нестабильностью и непредсказуемостью на мировых энергетических рынках в результате санкций против нефтегазового сектора России, политики стран ОПЕК+, а также изменения многих традиционных маршрутов экспорта топлива.

null

Цены на продукты питания поднялись на 12%, что является рекордным ростом с 1979 года. Ведущие инвестиционные банки и аналитики ещё не определись, является ли текущий уровень инфляции в США потолком или цены могут пойти ещё выше.

На фоне неослабевающей инфляции, Федеральная резервная система (ФРС) США уже дала рынку сигналы и приступила к постепенному сворачиванию мягкой монетарной политики. Так, в мае текущего года ФРС США подняла процентную ставку на 5.0 п.п. до 0.75–1.0%. Это рекордное повышение с 2000 года. В целом, по оценкам, процентная ставка ФРС продолжит рост в зависимости от рыночной конъюнктуры и может достичь 2.7% к концу 2022 года.

Однако центральному банку США необходимо сочетать решимость по усмирению инфляции с необходимостью минимизировать побочные эффекты для экономики США, так как слишком агрессивная реакция монетарной политики может привести к росту рецессивных явлений в крупнейшей экономике мира.

Фондовые индексы США традиционно очень чувствительно реагируют на изменение ключевой ставки. Последнюю неделю мы наблюдали распродажу на рынке и выход большинства инвесторов. Так, сигналы рынка говорят о наличии значительной неопределённости в результате непонимания стратегии регуляторов и перспектив мировой экономики и, в частности, США.

Слишком агрессивные действия со стороны монетарного регулятора могут усугубить перспективы американской экономики. Это в свою очередь может привести к более значимым и долгосрочным структурным проблемам нежели наблюдаемый рост инфляции. При этом ФРС необходимо в своей риторике определить более четкую стратегию действия. В противном случае продолжение распродаж на фондовых рынках может оказать негативное влияние на благосостояние людей и фирм, заставив их сократить текущее потребление. Подобное поведение может служить триггером для появления рецессионных явлений без какого-либо сдерживающего эффекта на инфляцию со стороны ставки.

Исходя из инфляционных ожиданий, по нашему мнению, американский регулятор на ближайшем июньском заседании может поднять ставку по федеральным фондам на 0.5 п.п., чтобы показать участникам рынка свою решимость обуздать вырвавшеюся из-под контроля инфляцию. Значительное количество аналитиков и экспертов считают, что ФРС решится поднять ставку на 0.75 п.п., однако мы считаем это избыточным, учитывая пересмотры прогнозов по росту мировой экономики в сторону снижения, а также ряд индикаторов потребительской и деловой активности в США.

Рекомендуем почитать
7 ноября 2022

17 октября 2022

6 октября 2022