Personal Consumption Expenditure Index: September 12-18, 2022

According to our Index. the demand for goods and services remains at the level of last year for the third week of autumn.

Spending on food products continues to decline. We note that they are already below the inflation rate. This means that people are not buying more food because of the high prices.

The slowdown in spending growth is still observed for most non-food products. Thus, the decrease in demand compared to last year is for construction materials, furniture, household appliances and medicines. The situation with medicines is partly explained by the fact that last year at this time was a high incidence of coronavirus and, accordingly, the demand for medicines was high, and therefore, we see a slowdown in demand against the background of the high base of last year. At the same time, the spending on office supplies, toys and sporting goods are growing.

Spending on services remained at the level of last year. However, demand continued to grow in the following categories: beauty and health, and construction. And the spending on medical services, air tickets, recreation and tourism continue to show a downward trend.

Thus in our opinion, the observed cooling of consumer demand for goods and services relative to the summer period is explained by increasing inflationary pressure (annual inflation for September was 17.7%) and previously purchased durable goods over the standard consumption level.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Индекс потребительских расходов: 12-18 сентября 2022

По данным нашего Индекса уже третью неделю осени сохраняется спрос на товары и услуги на уровне прошлого года.

Продолжают снижаться расходы на продовольственные товары. Отметим, что они уже находятся ниже уровня инфляции. Это означает, что люди не покупают больше продуктов питания из-за высоких цен.

Замедление роста расходов по-прежнему наблюдается по большинству непродовольственных товаров. Так, снижение спроса в сравнении с прошлым годом происходит на строительные материалы, мебель, бытовую технику и лекарства. Ситуация с лекарствами отчасти объясняется тем, что в прошлом году в это время наблюдался высокий уровень заболеваемости коронавирусом и соответственно спрос на медикаменты был высоким, поэтому на фоне высокой базы прошлого года отмечается замедление спроса. При этом растут расходы на канцтовары, игрушки и спортивные товары.

Расходы на услуги сохранились на уровне прошлого года. Однако продолжился рост спроса по следующим категориям: красота и здоровье, строительство. А расходы на медицинские услуги, авиабилеты, отдых и туризм продолжают демонстрировать нисходящий тренд.

Таким образом, наблюдаемое охлаждение потребительского спроса на товары и услуги относительно летнего периода, по нашему мнению, объясняется усиливающимся инфляционным давлением (годовая инфляция за сентябрь составила 17.7%) и ранее купленными товарами длительного использования сверх стандартного уровня потребления.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022