Weekly Forex Review (August 8 – 12, 2022)

Over the past week, the tenge has mainly strengthened against the traded currencies. Thus,the national currency strengthened against the dollar by 0.41% to 476.01 tenge, the ruble by 1.51% to 7.81 tenge, the yuan by 0.25% to 70.64 tenge, and against the euro weakened by 0.25% to 490.15 tenge.  Since the beginning of the year, the tenge has weakened against the dollar by 10.24%, against the ruble by 35.59%, against the euro by 0.21% and the yuan by 3.88%.

The considering week is characterized by the extinction of increased volatility in the domestic foreign exchange market in June-July 2022.

The weekly volatility of the tenge exchange rate against the dollar was 0.2% (-0.1 p.p. to the previous week, -1.0 p.p. to monthly volatility in July), and 0.8% against the ruble (-1.6 p.p.and -0.9 p.p., respectively).

This week the trading volume of the USDKZT pair decreased by 11.15% compared to the previous week (a decrease of 25.77% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to 428.70 million dollars.

The Tenge Index

On August 15, Jusan Analytics team announced the Tenge Index (KZTX JA), which is calculated as the geometric weighted average of tenge exchange rates against foreign currencies (dollar, ruble, euro) multiplied by scaling factor. That brings the Index value to 100 on the base date of the index calculation (December 2018).

The Index reflects the purchasing power of tenge to the main foreign currencies used in trade and transfers. The growth of the tenge Index means the strengthening of the tenge against the major currencies, while the decline means the loss of the purchasing power of the domestic currency.

During the week under review, the Tenge Index decreased by 0.3% and amounted to 78.5 points. The weakening of the Index by 13.5% since the beginning of this year indicates the continued purchasing power loss of tenge relative to the currencies selected for its calculation.

The dynamics of the Tenge Index negatively track with the Dollar Index. Thus, the weakening of the dollar against other currencies means the tenge strengthening and, accordingly, the growth of its Index. The share of the dollar in the Tenge Index is 65%.

At the same time, despite rising oil prices, as one of the main fundamental factors of exchange rate formation, the Tenge Index shows a weakening. This indicates that internal fundamental factors have a greater impact, in particular, the premium for high inflation, which participants of the domestic foreign exchange market invest in the exchange rate.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

In our opinion, there are no objective grounds for a significant correction of the tenge exchange rate in the foreseeable future. According to our expectations, the next tax week will not have a lasting strengthening effect on the national currency. The easing of concerns about a recession in the global economy and the emergence of prerequisites for easing the Fed’s aggressive policy (a monthly slowdown in inflation and stabilization of inflation expectations) will have a restraining effect on the Dollar Index. Reducing concerns about the prospects for global demand in conditions of limited oil supply will help to maintain oil prices at the current levels favourable for the tenge exchange rate. All these factors will limit the downward pressure and reduce the volatility of the currencies of developing countries.

Low volumes of exchange trading in foreign currency with a simultaneous decrease in the volatility of exchange rates may indicate a temporary stabilization of currency expectations. The exchange rate of tenge against the dollar will continue to trade in the current range of 475-480 tenge when there are no unforeseen shocks.


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (8 – 12 августа 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (8 – 12 августа 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 8-12 тамызы) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 8-12 тамызы)
Weekly Forex Review (August 8 – 12, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 8 – 12, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

7 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (8 – 12 августа 2022 года)

За прошедшую неделю тенге по отношению к торгуемым валютам преимущественно укреплялся. Так, национальная валюта укрепилась по отношению к доллару на 0.41% до 476.01 тенге, к рублю на 1.51% до 7.81 тенге, к юаню на 0.25% до 70.64 тенге, а к евро ослабла на 0.25% до 490.15 тенге. С начала года тенге ослабился по отношению к доллару на 10.24%, к рублю на 35.59%, к евро на 0.21% и к юаню на 3.88%.

Рассматриваемая неделя характеризуется угасанием возросшей в июне-июле 2022 года волатильности на внутреннем валютном рынке.

Недельная волатильность курса тенге по отношению к доллару составила 0.2% (-0.1 п.п. к предыдущей неделе, -1.0 п.п. к месячной волатильности в июле), по отношению к рублю 0.8% (-1.6 п.п. и -0.9 п.п. соответственно).

Объемы торгов парой USDKZT за прошедшую неделю сократились на 11.15% по сравнению с предыдущей (снижение на 25.77% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составили 428.70 млн долларов.

Индекс тенге

15 августа командой Jusan Analytics был анонсирован Индекс тенге (KZTX JA), который рассчитывается как среднее геометрическое взвешенное курсов тенге к иностранным валютам (доллар, евро, рубль), умноженное на поправочный коэффициент. Этот коэффициент приводит Индекс к значению, равному 100 на базовую дату расчета (декабрь 2018 года).

Индекс отражает покупательную способность тенге по отношению к основным иностранным валютам, используемым в торговле и переводах. Рост Индекса означает укрепление тенге к основным валютам, а снижение – потерю покупательной способности национальной валюты.

За рассматриваемую неделю Индекс тенге снизился на 0.3% и составил 78.5 пунктов. Ослабление Индекса на 13.5% с начала текущего года свидетельствует о продолжающейся утрате покупательной способности тенге относительно выбранных для его расчета валют.

Динамика Индекса тенге отрицательно коррелирует с индексом доллара. Так, ослабление доллара по отношению к другим валютам означает укрепление тенге и, соответственно, рост его индекса. Доля доллара в Индексе тенге составляет 65%.

При этом Индекс тенге показывает ослабление, несмотря на растущие цены на нефть, как одного из основных фундаментальных факторов курсообразования. Это свидетельствует о том, что большее влияние оказывают внутренние фундаментальные факторы, в частности премия за высокий уровень инфляции, которую участники внутреннего валютного рынка вкладывают в обменный курс.

Мнение Jusan Analytics

По-нашему мнению, в обозримой перспективе нет объективных оснований для значительной коррекции курса тенге. Будущая налоговая неделя, по нашим ожиданиям, не окажет длительного укрепляющего влияния на национальную валюту. Ослабление опасений относительно рецессии в мировой экономике и появление предпосылок для смягчения агрессивной политики ФРС (месячное замедление инфляции и стабилизация инфляционных ожиданий) окажут сдерживающее влияние на индекс доллара. Снижение беспокойств по поводу перспектив глобального спроса в условиях ограниченности нефтяного предложения будет способствовать сохранению нефтяных цен на текущих благоприятных для курса тенге уровнях. Все указанные факторы ограничат понижательное давление и снизят волатильность валют развивающихся стран.

Низкие объемы биржевых торгов иностранной валютой с одновременным снижением волатильности курсов может свидетельствовать о временной стабилизации валютных ожиданий. При отсутствии непредвиденных шоков обменный курс тенге по отношению к доллару продолжит торговаться в текущем диапазоне 475-480 тенге.


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (8 – 12 августа 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (8 – 12 августа 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 8-12 тамызы) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 8-12 тамызы)
Weekly Forex Review (August 8 – 12, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 8 – 12, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022