Weekly Forex Review (June 4 – 8, 2022)

During the week, the tenge weakened against the US dollar by 1.8% to 474.92 tenge. At the same time, the national currency against the ruble during this period strengthened by 9.8% to 7.72 tenge. Since the beginning of July, the tenge has weakened against the dollar by 1.0%, against the ruble showed a strengthening by 14.0% (since the beginning of the year, weakening by 10.0% and 34.0%, respectively). The strengthening of the tenge against the ruble is in a greater degree due to the weakening of the Russian currency.

Over the past week the trading volume of the USDKZT pair compared to the previous one had decreased by 16.4% (or 30.6% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to $ 403 million. The weakening of the national currency continues to be at relatively small volume, and it eliminates the hype factor. We note the relatively low volatility of the tenge-dollar pair between trading days, which may indicate static supply and demand: a tendency to simultaneous upward movement or preservation at a certain level.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

As participants in the foreign exchange market were concerned about new problems with the main oil pipeline of Kazakhstan, the dynamics of the tenge exchange rate over the past week was quite negative. Due to the global trend of strengthening the dollar and the deterioration of our expectations for the value of exports and imports, we shift the estimate of the equilibrium value of the exchange rate to 464-469 tenge (previously 459-464 tenge).

In our opinion, the prevailing factor of the current exchange rate formation is the negative expectations of market participants regarding the economic prospects (internal and external), that are expressed in the absence of market incentives to sell the currency at a lower price. At the same time, pressure from domestic demand for foreign currency remains:  holiday season, an increase in imports as a result of the growth of economic activity and the transition of the business cycle to the “boom/growth” phase (according to the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan business activity index). And in such conditions we do not see any reasons for a significant strengthening of the tenge.


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (4 – 8 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (4 – 8 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 4-8 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 4-8 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (June 4 – 8, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (June 4 – 8, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

7 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (4 – 8 июля 2022 года)

За неделю произошло ослабление тенге по отношению к доллару США на 1.8% до 474.92 тенге. При этом к рублю национальная валюта за этот период укрепилась на 9.8% до 7.72 тенге. С начала июля тенге ослабился к доллару на 1.0%, к рублю показал укрепление на 14.0% (с начала года ослабление на 10.0% и 34.0% соответственно). Укрепление тенге относительно рубля в большой степени связанно с ослаблением российской валюты.

Объемы торгов парой USDKZT за прошедшую неделю снизились на 16.4% по сравнению с предыдущей (или на 30.6% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составили 403 млн долларов. Ослабление национальной валюты продолжается на сравнительно небольших объемах, что позволяет исключить фактор ажиотажа. Мы отмечаем относительно низкую волатильность пары тенге-доллар между торговыми днями, что может указывать на статичность спроса-предложения: склонность к синхронному движению вверх или сохранения на определенном уровне.

Мнение Jusan Analytics:

Динамика курса тенге за прошедшую неделю была довольно негативной, так как участники валютного рынка опасались возникновения новых проблем с главным нефтяным трубопроводом Казахстана. В связи с глобальным трендом по укреплению доллара и ухудшением наших ожиданий по величине экспорта и импорта, мы смещаем оценку равновесного значения курса до 464-469 тенге (ранее 459-464 тенге).

По нашему мнению, преобладающим фактором текущего курсообразования являются негативные ожидания участников рынка в отношении экономических перспектив (внутренних и внешних), выраженные в отсутствии рыночных стимулов по продаже валюты по меньшей цене. При этом сохраняется давление со стороны внутреннего спроса на иностранную валюту: сезон отпусков, увеличение импорта в результате роста экономической активности и перехода бизнес-цикла в фазу «бума/роста» (согласно индекса деловой активности НБРК). В подобных условиях, мы не видим рыночных причин для существенного укрепления тенге.


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (4 – 8 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (4 – 8 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 4-8 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 4-8 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (June 4 – 8, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (June 4 – 8, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022