Weekly Forex Review (July 25 – 29, 2022)

This week went favorably for the national currency. Tenge strengthened against the US dollar by 1.40% to 477.09 tenge, and strengthening against the ruble was more significant – by 7.41% to 7.75 tenge. In July, the tenge weakened against the dollar by 1.44%, and against the ruble showed a strengthening of 13.70% (since the beginning of the year, weakening by 10.49% and 34.55%, respectively).

In July,  compared to last month there was a decrease in the monthly volatility of the tenge exchange rate against the dollar and ruble. At the same time, compared to the previous week there is an increase in the weekly volatility of the USD KZT pair.

Trading volume of the USDKZT pair were relatively equal to the previous week and amounted to $ 627.09 million (an increase of 7.0% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022). In July, the USDKZT pair trading volume increased by 11.9% compared to last month and amounted to $ 2,119.8 million.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

The positive external environment and the increase in the base rate of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan contributed to the preservation of tenge positions at the current level. However, the deterioration of the IMF’s forecasts for global GDP, especially against the background of hostilities between Russia and Ukraine, the COVID-19 pandemic, and weak economic development in the United States and China, indicates a high probability of the occurrence of recessionary phenomena. Developing countries are experiencing the effects of the global economic downturn much more strongly than developed ones: the exchange rate of national currencies acts as the main factor absorbing trade shocks and capital outflows. There is also considerable uncertainty about inflation in Kazakhstan. The National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan announced an upward revision of its estimates for inflation growth by the end of the year, while, in our opinion, the current rate hike cannot be a significant factor in increasing the attractiveness of tenge and tenge assets – greater uncertainty leads to a strengthening of the dollar’s position against tenge.


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (25 июля – 29 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (25 июля – 29 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 25-29 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 25-29 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (July 25 – 29, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (July 25 – 29, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

7 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (25 июля – 29 июля 2022 года)

Рассматриваемая неделя благоприятно прошла для национальной валюты. Тенге укрепился по отношению к доллару США на 1.40% до 477.09 тенге, по отношению к рублю укрепление было более существенным – на 7.41% до 7.75 тенге. За июль тенге ослабился к доллару на 1.44%, а к рублю показал укрепление на 13.70% (с начала года ослабление на 10.49% и 34.55% соответственно).

В июле наблюдалось снижение месячной волатильности курса тенге по отношению к доллару и рублю по сравнению с прошлым месяцем. При этом отмечается рост недельной волатильности пары USDKZT по сравнению с предыдущей неделей.

Объемы торгов парой USDKZT были относительно равны предыдущей неделе и составили 627.09 млн долларов (увеличение на 7.0% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году). Объем торгов парой USDKZT в июле увеличился на 11.9% по сравнению с прошлым месяцем и составил 2 119.8 млн долларов.

Мнение Jusan Analytics

Положительная внешняя конъюнктура и увеличение базовой ставки НБРК способствовали сохранению позиций тенге на текущем уровне. Однако ухудшение прогнозов МВФ по мировому ВВП, особенно на фоне военных действий между Россией и Украиной, пандемии COVID-19 и слабого экономического развития в США и Китае, свидетельствует о высокой вероятности возникновения возникновения рецессионных явлений. Развивающиеся страны испытывают на себе последствия глобального экономического спада гораздо сильнее, чем развитые: обменный курс национальных валют выступает в качестве основного фактора, абсорбирующего шоки торговли и оттока капитала. Также сохраняется значительная неопределённость касательно инфляции в Казахстане. НБРК сообщил о пересмотре своих оценок по росту инфляции к концу года в сторону повышения, при этом, по нашему мнению, текущее повышение ставок не может является значимым фактором повышения привлекательности тенге и тенговых активов – большая неопределённость приводит к усилению позиции доллара против тенге.


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (25 июля – 29 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (25 июля – 29 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 25-29 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 25-29 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (July 25 – 29, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (July 25 – 29, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022