The American economy has technically entered a recession

After falling by 1.6% in the first three months of this year, the US economy shrank by 0.9% in the 2nd quarter. For comparison, the growth rate of the world’s largest economy reached 6.9% in annual terms in the 4th quarter of 2021. This is a record figure for the last 40 years. Leading economists surveyed by The Wall Street Journal expected the US economy to show a slight, but still 0.4% growth in the 2nd quarter.

The decline in US GDP in the 2nd quarter is explained by a reduction in private investment in inventories that is due to a decline in retail trade, a drop in real estate investment, and public expenditures. At the same time, the economic shrinking is taking place against the background of a record acceleration of inflation in the country, historically low unemployment, and the hawkish monetary policy of the US Federal Reserve.

The decline in GDP growth over two quarters is traditionally considered to be the beginning of a technical recession. However, the US Department of Commerce puts a broader meaning to this term: a recession includes a significant drop in business activity in most sectors of the economy for several months, unemployment, output and household income.

The International Monetary Fund lowered the projected growth rates of US GDP in its updated July report. According to the latest forecasts of the organization, the US economy will shrink by 2.3% this year and 1.0% next year, which is 1.4 and 1.3 percentage points lower than the April review.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Американская экономика технически вступила в рецессию

Экономика США во 2 квартале сократилась на 0.9%, после падения на 1.6% за первые три месяца текущего года. Для сравнения в 4 квартале 2021 года темпы роста крупнейшей экономики мира достигли 6.9% в годовом выражении. Это рекордный показатель за последние 40 лет. Ведущие экономисты, опрошенные The Wall Street Journal, ожидали, что американская экономика покажет незначительный, но все-таки рост по итогам 2 квартала на 0.4%.

Снижение ВВП США во 2 квартале объясняется сокращением частных инвестиций в запасы из-за снижения объемов розничной торговли, падением инвестиций в недвижимость и госрасходов. При этом сжатие экономики происходит на фоне рекордного разгона инфляции в стране, исторически низкой безработицы и ястребиной монетарной политики ФРС США.

Снижение темпов роста ВВП в течение двух кварталов традиционно принято считать началом технической рецессии. Однако министерство торговли США вкладывает более широкое значение в этот термин: рецессия включает значительное падение деловой активности в большинстве секторов экономики в течение нескольких месяцев, безработицу, объем производства и доход домохозяйств.

Международный валютный фонд в своем обновленном июльском докладе снизил прогнозируемые темпы роста американского ВВП. Согласно последним прогнозам организации, сокращение американской экономики составит 2.3% в текущем году и – 1.0% в следующем, что на 1.4 и 1.3 п.п. ниже апрельского обзора.

Рекомендуем почитать
8 декабря 2022

30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022