Sanctions rebound

Kazakhstan companies told how they were affected by sanctions against the Russian Federation

Jusan Analytics team have surveyed representatives of small and medium–sized businesses – clients of Jusan Bank. The purpose of the survey is to determine the scale of the impact of anti–Russian sanctions on Kazakhstan business. Specifically, some questions allowed us to determine the degree of business dependence on the Russian Federation to assess its subsequent reaction to the growth of economic uncertainty.

The survey was conducted in May 2022 and was attended by 227 respondents-companies from all over Kazakhstan. Their distribution according to the regions is quite diversified. According to the number of employees, 44% of the surveyed companies are representatives of microbusinesses, 43% – are small-sized, 10% – are medium-sized, and 3% – are large businesses. Thus, the presented sample can be considered transparent and can reliably reflect the current trends.

Main conclusions

The survey results confirm the existence of a strong dependence of business on the Russian Federation – 41%. More than half of the companies interacting with the Russian Federation cannot switch to other partnersAnti-Russian sanctions harm the domestic business: purchase prices are rising, problems with bank transfers, and the supply of goods are appearing
The inevitable import of inflation through trade channels with Russia during the maintenance of the volume of demand in Kazakhstan. The surveyed companies do not feel a decrease in demandAfter the sanctions shock in business issues, there were problems with payments and transfers. To date, we do not note the presence of this problem while considering banking business processes. The presence of such a problem could affect the extension of the supply chains of goods if it were not for the rapid reorientation of the STB
Domestic business is highly dependent on external factors, primarily the exchange rate volatility, and to a lesser extent on internal, operational ones37% of respondents noted that they expect a decrease in production. It is due to disruption and extension of supply and production chains, not an internal economic downturn or a demand contraction
Kazakh businesses are planning to increase prices for their goods or services. It is the most optimal business solution to maintain marginality in the prevailing conditions.  If administrative regulation is introduced, the business will be forced to decrease production. It may lead to an even further decline in GDP growth and an increase in unsatisfied demand, pricesThe businesses are going to increase prices in the next 3 months by an average of 5.36 p.p. Selling final goods companies – by 6.52 p.p. Companies that are selling raw materials and goods for further processing by 5.57 p.p. Companies providing services – 3.3 p.p.

Read more in the paper

Санкционный рикошет (опрос МСБ) Санкционный рикошет (опрос МСБ)
Санкциялық рикошет Санкциялық рикошет
Sanctions rebound Sanctions rebound
We recommend reading
13 October 2022

If in the previous 10 years the consumer market lived up to the "baby boomers" born before Kazakhstan gained independence, then in the next 10 years it would have to be kept up to the "digital generation", which does not know the world without a smartphone.

23 August 2022

Jusan Analytics team analyzed Kazakhstan's oil and gas industry

1 June 2022

Основные эффекты от санкций на российскую экономику, и возможные каналы распространения нестабильности на мировую экономику и Казахстан.

Санкционный рикошет

Казахстанские компании рассказали, как на них влияют санкции против РФ

Команда Jusan Analytics в мае 2022 провела опрос среди представителей малого и среднего бизнеса – клиентов Jusan Bank. Цель опроса – определить масштаб влияния антироссийских санкций на бизнес Казахстана. В том числе ряд вопросов позволил определить степень зависимости бизнеса от РФ, оценить последующую его реакцию на рост экономической неопределенности.
 
В опросе приняли участие 227 респондентов-компаний со всего Казахстана. Их распределение относительно регионов довольно диверсифицировано. По численности работников 44% опрошенных компаний – представители микробизнеса, 43% – малого, 10% – среднего и 3% – крупного бизнеса. Таким образом, представленная выборка может считаться транспарентной и способна достоверно отразить происходящие тенденции.

Основные выводы

Результаты опроса подтверждают наличие сильной зависимости бизнеса от РФ – 41%. Больше половины компаний, взаимодействующих с РФ, не могут перестроиться на других партнеровАнтироссийские санкции негативно сказываются на отечественном бизнесе: растут закупочные цены, возникают проблемы с банковскими переводами и поставкой товаров
Неизбежный импорт инфляции по торговым каналам с Россией при сохранении объема спроса в Казахстане. Опрошенные компании не ощущают снижения спросаБизнес отмечал наличие проблем с оплатой и переводами после возникновения санкционного шока. На сегодняшний день, рассматривая банковские бизнес-процессы, мы не отмечаем наличие данной проблемы. Если бы не быстрая переориентация БВУ, наличие подобной проблемы могло повлиять на удлинение цепочек поставок товаров.
Отечественный бизнес довольно сильно зависит от внешних факторов, прежде всего, волатильности курса, и в меньшей степени от внутренних, операционных37% опрошенных отметили, что ожидают сокращения производства. Это связанно с нарушением и удлинением цепочек поставок и производства, а не с внутренним экономическим спадом или сокращением спроса
Казахстанский бизнес планирует увеличить цены на свои товары или услуги. В сохраняющихся условиях это самое оптимальное решением бизнеса для поддержания маржинальности. В случае введения административного регулирования бизнес будет вынужден сокращать производства. Это может привести к еще большему снижению темпов роста ВВП и росту неудовлетворенного спроса, ценБизнес планирует повысить цены в ближайшие 3 месяца в среднем на 5.36 п.п. Компании, осуществляющие реализацию конечных товаров – 6.52 п.п. Компании, осуществляющие реализацию сырья и товаров для дальнейшей переработки – 5.57 п.п. Компании, предоставляющие услуги – 3.3 п.п.

Подробнее читайте в документе

Санкционный рикошет (опрос МСБ) Санкционный рикошет (опрос МСБ)
Санкциялық рикошет Санкциялық рикошет
Sanctions rebound Sanctions rebound
Рекомендуем почитать
13 октября 2022

Если предыдущие 10 лет потребительский рынок подстраивался под «бэби бумеров», рожденных до обретения Казахстаном независимости, в следующее 10-летие придётся перестраиваться на «цифровое поколение», которое не знает мира без смартфона.

23 августа 2022

Команда Jusan Analytics проанализировала нефтегазовую отрасль Казахстана

1 июня 2022

Основные эффекты от санкций на российскую экономику, и возможные каналы распространения нестабильности на мировую экономику и Казахстан.