Wheat Paradox

Global market

Wheat is the leading grain crop, it grows well in temperate climatic latitudes and gives an abundant harvest per unit of acreage. The high-quality flour obtained from wheat grains is used in the production of bakery, pasta, and confectionery products. In addition, it is used as a forage crop in livestock. The main wheat producers are the European Union, China, Russia, and India, accounting for more than 55% of the world’s production.

According to the FAO data for June 2022, global wheat production decreased by 0.8% over the year to 770.8 million tons due to a decline in production in Australia, India, Morocco, and Ukraine. At the same time, due to high prices, the world consumption of wheat is also decreasing – by 0.4%, as a feed grain, and for industrial purposes, it is used less. Wheat trade will decrease by 1.7% against the background of a reduction in exports from Ukraine as a result of Russia’s blockade of its ports, a decrease in exports by Argentina and Australia, as well as a ban on exports to India. Wheat stocks in the main exporting countries are at the lowest level in the last 8 years. World wheat stocks in 2022 will have decreased by 0.1% to 299.3 million tons.

Prices

As a rule, wheat prices decrease from spring to the July harvest and consistently increase in the autumn-winter period. This trend, regardless of weather conditions, is associated with the cycle of planting and harvesting wheat. Prices for the products of the old harvest remain high until the forecasts for the new harvest become known. Therefore, during the wheat trade period of the old harvest, grain prices are usually higher than before the new harvest. When the wheat of the new crop is already harvested, the supply on the market increases, and wheat prices decrease.

As a result, wheat prices vary depending on the supply and demand ratio in the market and the costs of its production.

Additional factors affecting the global price of wheat are the following:

  • Weather conditions;
  • Inventory volume;
  • The correspondence of the expected values and the actual size of the harvested crop;
  • Grain production costs (fuel costs, fertilizers, seeds).

Taking into account all the above factors, it can be assumed that the peak of wheat prices was overcome in April-June 2022. Nevertheless, the minimum level of wheat stocks, high prices for energy resources and fertilizers, drought in the European Union, and a reduction in wheat supplies from Ukraine will affect the preservation of high wheat prices. Thus, we expect wheat to continue trading in a wide range of 700-900 dollars per bushel (≈ 27.2 kg) with the likely achievement of the second price peak closer to the autumn-winter period.

Production in Kazakhstan

According to the Bureau of National Statistics (BNS), more than 80% of all crop areas are wheat (12.9 million hectares). At the same time, the size of acreage in recent years has shown an average growth of 6% annually.

For 6 months of 2022, the physical volume of gross crop production in Kazakhstan had increased by 38% compared to the same period to 83.9 billion KZT. The decline in production in 2021 despite the increase in the size of the acreage was due to bad weather conditions.

If we look at the volumes, domestic production should 100% meet the domestic demand for wheat, which is processed by enterprises in the milling industry. Wheat is imported to use its seeds in sowing operations and for its further processing by flour mills. The main importer of wheat for Kazakhstan is Russia.

In 2021 alone, the volume of exports increased by more than 40%. Excluding trade turnover between the EAEU countries, the main importers of Kazakh wheat are Uzbekistan, Iran, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, and Italy. According to the EAEU trade turnover statistics, for 2021 Kazakhstan had exported wheat to the participating countries in an amount equal to 5 monthly exports to Italy for 2022. Despite the relatively small volume of wheat exported to Russia, Belarus, and Kyrgyzstan, there is a good dynamic of its growth.

According to data for June 2022, there is a reduction in the volume of wheat stocks in Kazakhstan. This is due to a decrease in the stocks of the old harvest wheat, while the new crop has not yet arrived at the elevators.

Against the background of a shortage of wheat due to supply disruptions, as well as export restrictions imposed by India, wheat prices have risen to a record $ 1,087 per bushel. Kazakh wheat has increased in demand as a result of the temporary shortage on the supply side. The Ministry of Agriculture of Kazakhstan has also introduced export restrictions on the export of wheat from May to the end of September 2022 to ensure food security in the country. The export will be carried out within the established quotas, wheat – 550 thousand tons, wheat and wheat-rye flour – 370 thousand tons.

Flour milling industry

Domestic consumption of flour milling products is fully provided by domestic production. However, Kazakh flour mills do not use domestic raw materials, but Russian ones. Amid the increase in the domestic wheat prices, Kazakh flour mills switched to Russian raw materials in the autumn of 2021, which turned out to be cheaper. Such behavior of millers allowed to reduce the price of flour from September 2021 – February 2022. However, since the beginning of the conflict in Ukraine, against the background of the temporary ban on the export of Russian wheat to the EAEU countries, the supply of Russian grain has stopped.

As a result of the ban, domestic wheat prices in Russia began to decline, which became an incentive for Russian millers to actively produce and sell their products in the most profitable direction for – Central Asia. Prices for Russian flour have become lower than Kazakhstan’s by $ 10.

These events have led to the fact that the Kazakh flour milling industry has experienced even more stress. Grain processors in March 2022 proposed to introduce restrictions on wheat exports aimed to support the domestic milling industry and increase its competitiveness. However, at that time the government did not support them. The restrictions requested by flour mills were introduced only in May 2022, when the growth of consumer prices for their products became higher than 30% in annual terms.

It should be noted that the shortage of Kazakh wheat, or its unavailability for millers due to the price factor, is not a new problem. Years of low wheat harvest in Kazakhstan have affected not only farmers but also representatives of the milling industry. Grain harvesters of Kazakhstan in 2021 gathered 17.1% or 2.4 million tons of wheat less than in 2020. Against the background of a low harvest and high prices, the volume of production of the flour milling industry decreased by 21.7% (-243 thousand tons of flour) over the same period, and exports decreased by 11.9% (-300 thousand tons of flour). Thus, millers send less and less flour abroad from year to year. At the same time, amid a backdrop of falling exports of Kazakh flour, its export to Uzbekistan is growing, which further processes and sells it to former importers of Kazakh processed products.

We recommend reading
7 November 2022

17 October 2022

6 October 2022

Пшеничный парадокс

Мировой рынок

Пшеница является ведущей зерновой культурой, она хорошо растет в умеренных климатических широтах и дает обильный урожай с единицы посевной площади. Получаемая из зерен пшеницы высококачественная мука используется при изготовлении хлебобулочных, макаронных и кондитерских изделий. Кроме того, она используется как кормовая культура в животноводстве. Основными производителями пшеницы являются Европейский Союз, Китай, Россия и Индия, на них приходится более 55% мирового производства.

По данным ФАО на июнь 2022 года глобальное производство пшеницы сократилось за год на 0.8% до 770.8 млн тонн за счет спада производства в Австралии, Индии, Марокко и Украине. При этом из-за высоких цен снижается и мировое потребление пшеницы – на 0.4%, ее меньше используют в качестве фуражного зерна и в промышленных целях. Торговля пшеницей снизится на 1.7% на фоне сокращения экспорта из Украины в результате блокады Россией ее портов, снижения объемов экспорта Аргентиной и Австралией, а также запрета на экспорт в Индии. Запасы пшеницы в основных странах-экспортерах находятся на самом низком уровне за последние 8 лет. Мировые запасы пшеницы в 2022 году снизятся на 0.1% до 299.3 млн тонн.

Цены

Как правило, цены на пшеницу снижаются с весны до июльского урожая и последовательно растут в осенне-зимний период. Этот тренд связан с циклом посадки и сбора пшеницы вне зависимости от погодных условий. Цены на продукцию старого урожая остаются высокими, пока не станут известны прогнозы по новому урожаю. Поэтому в период торговли пшеницей старого урожая цены на зерно обычно выше, чем перед сбором нового урожая. Когда пшеница нового урожая уже собрана, предложение на рынке растет, а цены на пшеницу снижаются.

В итоге, цены на пшеницу изменяются в зависимости от соотношения спроса и предложения на рынке и издержек на ее производство.

Дополнительные факторы, влияющие на глобальную цену пшеницы:

  • Погодные условия;
  • Объем запасов;
  • Соответствие ожидаемых значений и фактического размера собранного урожая;
  • Расходы на производство зерна (расходы на топливо, удобрения, семена).

Учитывая все вышеперечисленные факторы, можно предположить, что пик цен на пшеницу был преодолен в апреле-июне 2022 года. Тем не менее минимальный уровень запасов пшеницы, высокие цены на энергоресурсы и удобрения, засуха в Европейском союзе и сокращение поставок пшеницы с Украины повлияют на сохранение высоких цен на пшеницу. Таким образом, мы ожидаем, что пшеница продолжит торговаться в широком диапазоне 700-900 долларов за бушель (≈ 27.2 кг) с вероятным достижением второго ценового пика ближе к осенне-зимнему периоду.

Производство в Казахстане

Согласно данным Бюро национальной статистики (БНС), более 80% всех посевных площадей занимает пшеница (12.9 млн гектаров). При этом размер посевных площадей за последние годы показывает рост в среднем на 6% ежегодно.

За 6 месяцев 2022 года физический объем валовой продукции растениеводства в Казахстане увеличился по сравнению с аналогичным периодом на 38% до 83.9 млрд тенге. Снижение производства в 2021 году было связано с плохими погодными условиями, несмотря на увеличение размера посевных площадей.

Внутреннее производство, если смотреть на объемы, должно на 100% обеспечивать внутреннюю потребность в пшенице, которая перерабатывается предприятиями мукомольной промышленности. Импорт пшеницы осуществляется в целях использования ее семян в посевных работах и для ее дальнейшей переработки мукомолами. Основным экспортером пшеницы для Казахстана является Россия.

Только за 2021 год объем экспорта вырос на более чем 40%. Без учета товарооборота между странами ЕАЭС, основными импортерами казахстанской пшеницы являются Узбекистан, Иран, Таджикистан, Афганистан, Туркмения и Италия. Согласно данным статистики товарооборота ЕАЭС, Казахстан за весь 2021 год экспортировал в страны-участницы пшеницу в объеме равной 5 месячному экспорту в Италию за 2022 год. Несмотря на сравнительно малый объем пшеницы, экспортируемой в Россию, Беларусь и Кыргызстан, наблюдается хорошая динамика их роста.

По данным за июнь 2022 года наблюдается сокращение объемов запасов пшеницы в Казахстане. Это объясняется снижением запасов пшеницы старого урожая, при этом новый урожай еще не поступил на элеваторы.

На фоне возникшего дефицита пшеницы из-за перебоев в поставках, а также введенных Индией ограничений на экспорт наблюдался рост цен на пшеницу до рекордных 1 087 долларов за бушель. В результате  возникшего временного дефицита на стороне предложения, наблюдался рост спроса на казахстанскую пшеницу. Для обеспечения продовольственной безопасности в стране министерство сельского хозяйства Казахстана также ввело экспортные ограничения  на вывоз пшеницы с мая по конец сентября 2022 года. Вывоз будет производиться в рамках установленных квот, пшеница – 550 тыс. тонн, мука пшеничная и пшенично-ржаная – 370 тыс. тонн.

Мукомольная промышленность

Внутреннее потребление продукции мукомольной промышленности полностью обеспечивается за счет отечественного производства. Однако казахстанские мукомолы используют не отечественное сырье, а российское. На фоне роста внутренних цен на пшеницу, казахстанские мукомолы с осени 2021 года перешли на российское сырье, которое оказывалось дешевле. Подобное поведение мукомолов позволило снизить цены на муку в сентябре 2021 – феврале 2022 года. Однако с момента начала конфликта в Украине, на фоне введенного временного запрета на экспорт российской пшеницы в страны ЕАЭС,  поставки российского зерна прекратились.

В результате введенного запрета внутренние цены на пшеницу в России начали снижаться, что стало стимулом для российских мукомолов. Они начали активно производить и сбывать свою продукцию по самому выгодному для них направлению – Центральной Азии. Цены на российскую муку стали ниже казахстанских на 10 долларов.

Эти события привели к тому, что казахстанская мукомольная промышленность испытала еще больший стресс. Зернопереработчики в марте 2022 года предлагали ввести ограничения на экспорт пшеницы для поддержки отечественной мукомольной промышленности и повышения ее конкурентоспособности. Однако на тот момент в правительстве их не поддержали. Запрашиваемые мукомолами ограничения были введены только в мае 2022 года, когда рост потребительских цен на их продукцию стал выше 30% в годовом выражении.

Отметим, что нехватка казахстанской пшеницы, либо ее недоступность для мукомолов из-за ценового фактора, не новая проблема. Годы низкого урожая пшеницы в Казахстане сказались не только на аграриях, но также и на представителях мукомольной промышленности. Зерноуборщики Казахстана в 2021 году собрали на 17.1% или на 2.4 млн тонн пшеницы меньше, чем в 2020 году. На фоне низкого урожая и высоких цен, объем производства продукции мукомольной промышленности снизился за этот же период  на 21.7% (-243 тыс. тонн муки), а экспорт сократился на 11.9% (-300 тыс. тонн муки). Таким образом, мукомолы из года в год отправляют за рубеж всё меньше муки. При этом на фоне падения экспорта казахстанской муки, растет экспорт казахстанской пшеницы в Узбекистан, который в дальнейшем перерабатывает ее и продает бывшим импортерам казахстанской обработанной продукции.

Рекомендуем почитать
7 ноября 2022

17 октября 2022

6 октября 2022