The OECD has lowered its forecast for global GDP growth in 2022 to 3%

The world economy may enter a period of slowing global GDP growth with a steady increase in the consumer price index. Such conclusions can be drawn from the latest June review of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Thus, the OECD predicts that the growth rate of the global GDP in 2022 will be 3.0%, which is 1.5 p.p. lower than the forecasts of December last year.

According to the forecast of the organization, the inflation in developed countries will be 9.0%, which is twice as high as the previous value. The acceleration of the consumer prices in developed and developing countries will reduce household disposable income, and living standards and restain global consumption. All this undermines the dynamics of the global economy and causes stagflation risk.

A similar situation in the world was in the 1970s amid the oil embargo imposed by OPEC countries against the developed economies of the world. As a result, from October 1973 to January 1974, the cost of a barrel of oil increased four times from 2.90 to 11.65 US dollars.

Today’s international sanctions affect Russia’s energy sector, which provides 10% of world oil supplies and 16% of world gas exports. As a result, oil is at its maximum value over the past 10 years, and the cost of gas reaches historical values.

In our opinion, in addition to geopolitical tensions, the risks of global stagflation are also affected by the situation in the two largest economies in the world – the United States and the People’s Republic of China. So, according to the observations of former US Treasury Secretary Larry Summers, historically, when inflation in the country exceeded 4.0% and unemployment fell below 4.0%, the American economy entered a recession on the horizon of 2 years. According to the latest data, the consumer price index in the US reached 8.3%, and unemployment dropped to 3.6%. In China, the zero-tolerance policy for COVID-19 slows down domestic growth and disrupts global supply chains.

Against this background, the Central Banks of the world get caught in the crossfire, and to rein in inflation and prevent the recessionary phenomena in the global economy should pursue a more balanced, cautious monetary policy.

For Kazakhstan, the possible strengthening of global stagflationary risks may create certain difficulties. Thus, the possible stagnation of the world economy may lead to a decrease in global demand for some export goods, as well as reduce the flow of foreign investment. In addition, the acceleration of global inflation, especially in food items, may lead to a price response within the country.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

ОЭСР снизила прогноз роста мирового ВВП в 2022 году до 3%

Мировая экономика может войти в период замедления темпов роста глобального ВВП при устойчивом росте индекса потребительских цен. Такие выводы можно сделать из последнего июньского обзора Организация экономического сотрудничества и развития (ОЭСР). Так, ОЭСР прогнозирует, что темпы роста глобального ВВП в 2022 году составят 3.0%, что на 1.5 п.п. ниже прогнозов декабря прошлого года.

Инфляция в развитых странах, по прогнозам организации, составит 9.0%, что вдвое выше предыдущего значения. Разгон потребительских цен в развитых и развивающихся странах будет сокращать располагаемые доходы населения, снижать уровень жизни домохозяйств и сдерживать мировое потребление. Все это подрывает динамику мировой экономики и создает риск возникновения стагфляции.

Похожая ситуация в мире наблюдалась в 1970-х годах на фоне нефтяного эмбарго, введенного странами ОПЕК против развитых экономик мира. В результате с октября 1973 по январь 1974 стоимость барреля нефти выросла в четыре раза с 2.90 до 11.65 долларов США.

Сегодняшние международные санкции затрагивают энергетический сектор России, который обеспечивает 10% мировых поставок нефти и 16% мирового экспорта газа. Как результат, нефть находится на максимальных значениях за последние 10 лет, а стоимость газа достигает исторических значений.

По нашему мнению, в дополнение к геополитической напряженности на риски глобальной стагфляции также влияет ситуация в двух крупнейших экономиках мира – США и КНР. Так, по наблюдениям бывшего министра финансов США Ларри Саммерса, исторически, когда инфляция в стране превышала 4.0%, а безработица опускалась ниже 4.0%, американская экономика вступала в рецессию на горизонте 2 лет. Согласно последним данным, индекс потребительских цен в США достиг 8.3%, а безработица опустилась до 3.6%. В КНР же политика нулевой терпимости к COVID-19 замедляет внутренний рост и нарушает цепочки глобальных поставок.

На этом фоне центральные банки мира находятся между двух огней и должны проводить более взвешенную, осторожную монетарную политику, чтобы обуздать инфляцию и не допустить возникновения рецессионых явлений в мировой экономике.

Для Казахстана возможное усиление глобальных стагфляционных рисков может создать определенные сложности. Так, возможная стагнация мировой экономики может привести к снижению глобального спроса на ряд экспортных товаров, а также снизить поток иностранных инвестиций.  Кроме того, ускорение мировой инфляции, особенно по продовольственным позициям, может привести к отклику цен внутри страны.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022