The National Bank has raised its base rate to 14.5%

As we expected, today the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan has raised its base rate by 0.5 p.p. to 14.5% per annum level.

Given the long-term nature of the inflation pressure, the current base rate increase will promote pro-inflationary factors reduction. The increased rate will restrain unproductive lending growth, that puts pressure on the tenge exchange rate and consumer inflation. Moreover, the rate increase will have a positive impact on savings terms and provide additional support to the national currency.

At the same time, despite the continuing significant inflationary threats, the real rate (base minus inflation) is zero again, and this corresponds to the previously announced policy on the prevention of a negative rate of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

In a press release on the base rate, the National Bank said that it expected annual inflation to accelerate above 15% in 2022, which indicates a likely increase in inflationary pressure. As a result, the future real rate is probably to be negative. This will lead to a further increase in the base rate.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

Нацбанк повысил базовую ставку до 14,5%

Как мы и ожидали, сегодня НБРК повысил базовую ставку на 0.5 п.п. до уровня 14.5% годовых.

Учитывая длительный характер инфляционного давления, текущее повышение базовой ставки будет способствовать сокращению проинфляционных факторов. Повышенная ставка будет сдерживать непродуктивный рост кредитования, оказывающий давление на курс тенге и потребительскую инфляцию. Кроме того, рост ставки положительно повлияет на сберегательные условия и окажет дополнительную поддержку национальной валюте.

При этом, несмотря на сохраняющиеся значительные инфляционные угрозы, реальная ставка (базовая минус инфляция) снова нулевая, что соответствует озвученной ранее политике НБРК по недопущению отрицательной ставки.

В своем пресс-релизе о базовой ставке Нацбанк сообщил, что ожидает ускорение годовой инфляции в 2022 году выше 15%, что говорит о вероятном повышении инфляционного давления. Как результат, будущая реальная ставка, вероятнее всего, будет отрицательной. Это приведет к дальнейшему увеличению базовой ставки.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022