2022 results: inflation has reached 20.3%

This is the maximum value for the last more than 2 decades. The last time the price increase in annualized terms was higher only in March 2000 – 20.6%. The National Bank of Kazakhstan was forced to raise the base rate 6 times by a total of 650 bps in the fight against high inflation over the past year. And as a result, it has reached the level of 2016.

By the end of December, monthly inflation was below our expectations (1.2%) and continued to follow the slowdown trend that emerged in October 2022.

The strengthening of the tenge against the Russian ruble by more than 16% at the end of December contributed to a relatively more moderate increase in prices for consumer goods, even despite the pressure of spending during the New Year’s preparations. The most unexpected for us was the dynamics of service inflation, the slowdown of which largely explains the below-expected level of consumer prices in general.

Meanwhile, the slowdown in price growth does not mean a decrease in inflationary pressure but suggests that they are not growing as fast as before. In any case, this is already a move in a positive direction.

We recommend reading
25 January 2023

Jusan Analytics imagines what will happen if to change some important circumstances in life and the economy. Disclaimer: this work is the author's fantasy, situations or conclusions are hypothetical.

18 January 2023

11 January 2023

Итоги 2022 года: инфляция достигла 20.3%

Это максимальное значение за последние более чем 2 десятилетия. Последний раз прирост цен в годовом выражении был выше только в марте 2000 года – 20.4%. В борьбе с высокой инфляцией Национальный Банк Казахстана за прошедший год был вынужден 6 раз повышать базовую ставку в общей сложности на 700 б.п. В результате она достигла уровня 2016 года.

По итогам декабря месячная инфляция сложилась ниже наших ожиданий (1.2%) и продолжила следовать тренду замедления, наметившемуся в октябре 2022 года.

Укрепление тенге по отношению к российскому рублю на более чем 16% по итогам декабря способствовало относительно более умеренному приросту цен на потребительские товары, даже несмотря на давление расходов во время предновогодних приготовлений. Наиболее неожиданной для нас стала динамика сервисной инфляции, замедление которой во многом объясняет сложившийся ниже ожиданий уровень потребительских цен в целом.

Между тем, замедление темпов роста цен еще не означает снижение инфляционного давления, а просто говорит о том, что они растут не так быстро, как ранее. Во всяком случае, это уже движение в правильном направлении.

Рекомендуем почитать
25 января 2023

Jusan Analytics представляет, что будет, если изменить некоторые важные обстоятельства в жизни и экономике. Дисклеймер: эта работа является фантазией автора, ситуации или выводы носят гипотетический характер.

18 января 2023

11 января 2023