Personal Consumption Expenditure Index: September 26 – October 2, 2022

There was a decrease in real demand for September due to a significant inflation acceleration in the “all goods and services” category. Compared to the same period last year, household spending in real terms is lower, and the prices rising throughout the year have led to a decrease in the real level of consumption.

And by the segments, the main impact was a reduction in real demand for food products, which is also associated with a significant increase in food inflation compared to the same period last year.

At the same time, there is an increased demand for non–food products – 16.42% compared to last year despite the inflation rate. Thus, the demand for transport and spare parts has increased. This reflects the influence of seasonality.

The demand for household appliances was positive for a significant part of the year, while it has now essentially decreased due to an increase in the number of instalment programs from several banks.

Spending on clothing and footwear decreased, but remained in the positive zone. The peak of demand for them was noted at the end of the summer and at the beginning of the autumn period.

If it comes to services, then there is an increase in expenses for air tickets and construction categories. The continued demand for air tickets is due to the low base of last year when quarantine restrictions remained.

We have noted a significant increase in the value of expenditure on construction services since the end of August. In our opinion, the period of active purchases of residential properties fell on the spring and summer periods, while repairs and fitting up of the purchased real estate are being carried out.

We recommend reading
8 December 2022

30 November 2022

4 November 2022

Индекс потребительских расходов: 26 сентября-2 октября 2022

По категории «все товары и услуги» в сентябре произошло снижение реального спроса из-за значительного ускорения инфляции. Расходы населения в реальном выражении ниже относительно аналогичного периода прошлого года, растущие на протяжении всего года цены привели к снижению реального уровня потребления.

В рамках сегментов основное влияние оказало сокращение реального спроса на продовольственные товары, также связанное со значительным ростом продовольственной инфляции, в сравнении с аналогичным периодом прошлого года.

При этом, несмотря на уровень инфляции, сохраняется повышенный спрос на непродовольственным товары – 16.42% относительно прошлого года. Так, увеличился спрос на транспорт и запчасти. Это отражает влияние сезонности.

Значительную часть года спрос на бытовую технику был положительным, при этом в настоящее время он существенно снизился из-за роста количества программ рассрочек у ряда банков.

Расходы на одежду и обувь снизились, но сохранились в положительной зоне. Пик спроса на них отметился в конце летнего и в начале осеннего периода.

В разрезе услуг отмечается рост расходов в следующих категориях: авиабилеты и строительство. Сохранение спроса на авиабилеты связано с низкой базой прошлого года, когда еще сохранились карантинные ограничения.

С конца августа мы отмечаем значительные выбросы в значениях расхода на услуги в сфере строительства. По нашему мнению, период активных покупок жилых объектов приходился на весенний и летние периоды, тогда как в настоящее время производятся ремонт и обустройство купленной недвижимости.

Рекомендуем почитать
30 ноября 2022

4 ноября 2022

21 октября 2022