Following the meeting on July 27, the US Federal Reserve raised the rate to 2.25-2.50%

This is the second interest rate hike by 0.75 p.p. at once. Earlier, the American regulator also raised the rate in June of this year. The Fed’s Open Market Committee forecasts an increase in the key rate to 3.25-3.50% in 2022 and to 3.50-3.75% next year.

PeriodFed’s interest rateInflation
ChangeValue
March 2022+ 0.25 p.p.0.25-0.508.5
May 2022+ 0.50 p.p.0.75-1.08.6
June 2022+ 0.75 p.p.1.5-1.759.1
July 2022+ 0.75 p.p.2.25-2.50N/A
2022 (forecast) 3.25-3.505.2
2023 (forecast) 3.50-3.752.6
Source: Federal Open Market Committee

In general, the tightening of monetary policy of the world’s largest economy has begun in March this year with an increase in the rate to 0.25-0.50%. Additionally, since June 1, the US Central Bank has begun to reduce the volume of the assets on its balance sheet. In 2022, 3 more meetings of the open market committee will be held, at which the direction of US monetary policy will be determined.

The curtailment of soft monetary policy is taking place against the background of an unprecedented acceleration of inflation in the American economy. According to the latest data, even despite the sharp reversal of the monetary policy of the US Federal Reserve, prices in the country continue to rise steadily. Thus, the consumer price index rose by 9.1% in annual terms in June, which was the greatest acceleration in the last 40 years. In terms of the components of inflation, the cost of fuel jumped by 60% YoY, and food – by 10.4%. The US Federal Reserve expects the country’s inflation rate to average 5.2% in 2022, dropping to 2.6% in 2023 with an average annual target of 2.0%.

The hawkish monetary policy of the US Federal Reserve has a direct impact on other countries: the appreciation of the dollar leads to additional pressure on the national currencies of developing countries and the outflow of capital investments, as well as the investment attractiveness of emerging markets decreases due to the increase in the profitability of risk-free US instruments.

The increase in interest rates of the US Central Bank is also an inevitable deterioration in borrowing conditions for the corporate sector and emerging economies. Servicing the debt burden and opportunities for its further refinancing are becoming unaffordable for corporate and sovereign entities of the world economy. Sri Lanka made the first such sovereign default.

Rising interest rates increase economic pessimism and uncertainty. Market participants will lay a big premium for investment risk in such conditions. As a result, the required profitability and, accordingly, the discount rates for any investment projects in the United States and the world will increase.

International organizations are reviewing the prospects for the growth of the American economy downwards. Thus, according to the latest OECD estimates in June, the growth rate of the American economy will slow down to 2.3-2.5% in 2022 (5.7% a year earlier). In 2023, US GDP will increase by 1.2%. The International Monetary Fund predicts that the growth rate of US GDP will drop sharply to 2.3% this year and to 1.0% next year in its updated July report. 70% of leading economists surveyed by the Financial Times believe that the American economy will enter a recession next year.

We recommend reading
30 November 2022

5 November 2022

4 November 2022

ФРС США по итогам заседания 27 июля повысила ставку до 2.25-2.50%

Это уже второе повышение ключевой ставки сразу на 0.75 п.п. Ранее американский регулятор также поднимал ставку в июне текущего года. Комитет по открытым рынкам ФРС США прогнозирует рост ключевой ставки до 3.25-3.50% в 2022 году и до 3.50-3.75% в следующем году.

ПериодКлючевая ставка ФРС СШАИнфляция
ИзменениеЗначение
Март 2022+ 0.25 п.п.0.25-0.508.5
Май 2022+ 0.50 п.п.0.75-1.08.6
Июнь 2022+ 0.75 п.п.1.5-1.759.1
Июль 2022+ 0.75 п.п.2.25-2.50N/A
2022 (прогноз) 3.25-3.505.2
2023 (прогноз) 3.50-3.752.6
Источник: Комитет по открытым рынкам ФРС США

В целом ужесточение денежно-кредитной политики крупнейшей экономики мира началось в марте текущего года с повышения ставки до 0.25-0.50%. Дополнительно с 1 июня американский центробанк приступил к сокращению объема активов на своем балансе. В 2022 году состоится еще 3 заседания комитета по открытым рынкам, на которых будет определяться направление денежно-кредитной политики США.

Сворачивание мягкой монетарной политики происходит на фоне беспрецедентного разгона инфляции в американской экономике. Согласно последним данным, даже несмотря на резкий разворот монетарной политики ФРС США, цены в стране продолжают уверенный подъем. Так, индекс потребительских цен вырос в июне на 9.1% в годовом выражении, что стало самым большим ускорением за последние 40 лет. В разрезе компонентов инфляции стоимость топлива подскочила на 60% г/г, продуктов питания – на 10,4%. ФРС США ожидает, что уровень инфляции в стране в среднегодовом значении составит 5.2% в 2022 году, опустившись до 2.6% в 2023 году при среднегодовом целевом ориентире в 2.0%.

Ястребиная монетарная политика ФРС США оказывает прямое влияние и на другие страны: удорожание доллара приводит к дополнительному давлению на национальные валюты развивающихся государств и оттоку капиталовложений, а также из-за роста доходности безрисковых инструментов США снижается инвестиционная привлекательность развивающихся рынков.

Рост процентных ставок американского центробанка – это также неизбежное ухудшение условий заимстований для корпоративного сектора и государств с развивающейся экономикой. Обслуживание долговой нагрузки и возможности для ее дальнейшего рефинансирования становится неподъемным для корпоративных и суверенных субъектов мировой экономики. Первый подобный суверенный дефолт допустила Шри Ланка.

Рост процентных ставок повышает экономические пессимизм и неопределенность. В подобных условиях участники рынка будут закладывать большую премию за инвестиционный риск. Как результат вырастет требуемая доходность и соответственно ставки дисконтирования по любым инвестиционным проектам в США и мире.

Международные организации пересматривают перспективы роста американской экономики в сторону понижения. Так, темп роста американской экономики, согласно последним июньским оценкам ОЭСР, замедлится до 2.3-2.5% в 2022 году (5.7% годом ранее). В 2023 году ВВП США увеличится на 1.2%. Международный валютный фонд с своем обновленном июльском докладе прогнозирует, что темпы роста американского ВВП резко снизятся до 2.3% в текущем году и до 1.0% – в следующем. 70% ведущих экономистов, опрошенных Financial Times, считают, что американская экономика в следующем году вступит в рецессию.

Рекомендуем почитать
8 декабря 2022

30 ноября 2022

5 ноября 2022