Weekly Forex Review (August 31 – September 2, 2022)

Over the past week, the national currency has weakened against most traded currencies. Tenge weakened against the dollar (by 0.93%), euro (by 1.37%) and yuan (by 0.43%). At the same time, the tenge strengthened by 0.63% against the ruble. And since the beginning of the year, the tenge has weakened against the dollar by 9.42%, against the ruble by 36.11%, against the yuan by 0.60%, and against the euro strengthened by 3.36%.

The weekly volatility of the tenge against the dollar and ruble was 0.1% each, which is 0.9 p.p. and 1.0 p.p. lower than last week. These values indicate an inert reaction of the exchange rate to incoming information within the previous week. This may signal both an increase in the inefficiency of the foreign exchange market and indicate a temporary consensus of market participants on a rate that satisfies everyone.

The week following the period of tax payments by exporters was characterised by a noticeable decrease in the volume of exchange trading. Thus, the USDKZT pair trading volume over the past week decreased by 75.6% compared to the previous one (a decrease of 69.5% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to $ 175.70 million. We note that last week tenge was trading at rather low volumes. Such terms cannot indicate a truly equilibrium level of the current exchange rate.

The Tenge Index (August 31 – September 2)

During the week under review, the Tenge Index decreased by 0.6% and amounted to 79.50 points, and since the beginning of the year – by 12.4%.

The loss of positions previously won back during the big tax week, according to the Index took place with a decrease in the cost of oil to $ 93.0 per barrel and the continuing trend of strengthening the positions of the US dollar.

Since the second half of August, following the Tenge Index, there was a gap reduction in the dynamics of oil quotes and the exchange rate of the national currency. This is due to the fall in oil prices from above $ 100 per barrel level to the current $ 93 with relatively stable fluctuations in the Tenge Index at 77-80 points level. At the same time, the Index continues to ignore the strengthening of the dollar.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

The exchange rate returned to the previous levels of 470-472 tenge per dollar. This suggests that the observed strengthening during the big tax week did not meet the expectations of investors and market participants, but was due to temporarily increased demand.

The released by the end of August data on the significant acceleration of annual inflation to 16.1% (+1.4% MoM) and the measures announced during the Message by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the Government and the National Bank, most likely, caused the wait-and-see position by participants of the foreign exchange market.

The further trend of exchange rate formation will depend on the response measures of the authorized bodies and the balance of fundamental internal and external factors.

We have carried out a significant revision of our forecasts due to the release of inflation data, which turned out to be significantly higher than our forecasts, as well as the adjustment of the  tightening monetary trajectory.


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (31 августа – 2 сентября 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (31 августа – 2 сентября 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 31 тамызы – 2 қыркүйегі) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 31 тамызы – 2 қыркүйегі)
Weekly Forex Review (August 31 – September 2, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 31 – September 2, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

1 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (31 августа – 2 сентября 2022 года)

За прошедшую неделю национальная валюта продемонстрировала ослабление к большинству торгуемым валютам. Тенге ослаб к доллару (на 0.93%), евро (на 1.37%) и юаню (на 0.43%). При этом к рублю тенге укрепился на 0.63%. С начала года тенге ослаб по отношению к доллару на 9.42%, к рублю на 36.11%, к юаню на 0.60%, к евро укрепился на 3.36%.

Недельная волатильность курсов тенге к доллару и рублю составила по 0.1%, что на 0.9 п.п. и 1.0 п.п. ниже, чем на прошлой неделе. Данные значения говорят о достаточно инертной реакции курса на поступающую информацию в рамках прошлой недели. Это может сигнализировать как о росте неэффективности валютного рынка, так и указывать на временный консенсус участников рынка по удовлетворяющему всех курсу.

Последовавшая после периода налоговых выплат экспортеров неделя характеризовалась заметным снижением объемов биржевых торгов. Так, объемы торгов парой USDKZT за прошедшую неделю сократились на 75.6% по сравнению с предыдущей (снижение на 69.5% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составили 175.70 млн долларов. Отмечаем, что на прошлой неделе тенге торгуется на достаточно низких объемах. Такие условия не могут указывать на действительно равновесный уровень текущего курса.

Индекс тенге (31 августа-2 сентября)

За рассматриваемую неделю Индекс тенге снизился на 0.6% и составил 79.50 пунктов, с начала года – на 12.4%.

Утрата ранее отыгранных во время большой налоговой недели позиций по данным Индекса произошла вместе со снижением стоимости нефти до 93.0 долларов за баррель и сохраняющимся трендом усиления позиций американского доллара.

Со второй половины августа, согласно Индексу тенге, наблюдается сокращение разрыва в динамике нефтяных котировок и курса национальной валюты. Это происходит благодаря падению нефтяных котировок с уровня выше 100 долларов за баррель до текущих 93 долларов при относительно стабильных колебаниях Индекса тенге на уровне 77-80 пунктов. При этом Индекс пока продолжает игнорировать усиление доллара.

Мнение Jusan Analytics

Курс вернулся к прежним уровням 470-472 тенге за доллар. Это говорит о том, что наблюдаемое укрепление в период большой налоговой недели не соответствовало ожиданиям инвесторов и участников рынка, а было обусловлено временно возросшим спросом.

Выход данных в середине короткой недели о значительном ускорении годовой инфляции по итогам августа до 16.1% (+1.4% м/м) и озвученные в ходе послания Президентом РК меры для Правительства и НБРК, вероятнее всего, стали причиной принятия выжидательной позиции участниками валютного рынка.

Дальнейший тренд курсообразования будет зависеть от ответных мер уполномоченных органов и баланса фундаментальных внутренних и внешних факторов.

В связи с выходом данных по инфляции, которые оказались значительно выше наших прогнозов, а также корректировкой траектории ужесточения монетарных условий мы осуществили значительный пересмотр наших прогнозов.


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (31 августа – 2 сентября 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (31 августа – 2 сентября 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 31 тамызы – 2 қыркүйегі) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 31 тамызы – 2 қыркүйегі)
Weekly Forex Review (August 31 – September 2, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 31 – September 2, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

1 сентября 2022