Weekly Forex Review (September 12 – 16, 2022)

The national currency has demonstrated multidirectional dynamics: weakening against the dollar (-0.80%) and the ruble (-1.40%), but strengthening against the euro (+0.40%) and the yuan (+0.53%) over the previous week. Since the beginning of the year, the tenge has weakened against the dollar by 10.50%, the ruble – 38.02%, the yuan – 2.79%, but showed a slight strengthening against the euro (+0.04%).

The weekly volatility of the tenge exchange rate against foreign currencies decreased slightly: against the dollar to 0.39% and against the ruble to 0.78%. The weakening of the national currency was at a low volume of trading on the stock exchange.

The USDKZT pair trading volume over the past week decreased by 7.58% compared to the previous one (a decrease of 34.0% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to $ 372.95 million.

The Tenge Index

The Tenge Index decreased by 0.8% over the week, by 13.3% since the beginning of the year and amounted to 79.32 points.

The decline in the Index is due to double pressure: surging dollar and declining oil prices.

The current Index level corresponds to its value at the beginning of August 2022, when oil quotes were $ 4 higher, and the Dollar Index was equal to 106.6 points. One of the obvious reasons for the current imbalance is the euro, which weakened from 485 to 475 tenge. At the same time, the main reason is the continued low efficiency of the domestic foreign exchange market, when the tenge exchange rate is significantly influenced more by internal factors (currency expectations, the ratio of supply and demand in the foreign exchange market, etc.) than external ones.

Over the past 2 weeks, there has been an increase in the sensitivity of the tenge exchange rate to changes in external market conditions, than was observed in the summer season.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

The exchange rate has weakened from 473 to 477 tenge per dollar over the past week. This is due to an increase in the exchange rate sensitivity to external conditions compared to the summer period. Low trading volumes of the USD KZT pair and volatility signal the observed uncertainties in currency expectations and the wait-and-see position of market participants in response to the high value of the Dollar Index. Taking into account the current data on the slower-than-expected rate of inflation slowdown, the Fed is likely to raise the rate more decisively at the upcoming meeting, and thereby contribute to increased pressure on the currencies of developing countries and capital outflow.

However, the recent Statement by the Minister of Energy on the restoration of the Kashagan operation only by October of this year causes additional pressure from internal factors. And in our opinion, as a result, there are no strong grounds for a reversal of the weakening the national currency trend until the end of the year.

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (12 – 16 сентября 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (12 – 16 сентября 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 12-16 қыркүйегі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 12-16 қыркүйегі)
Weekly Forex Review (September 12-16, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (September 12-16, 2022)
We recommend reading
14 September 2022

7 September 2022

1 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (12 – 16 сентября 2022 года)

За прошедшую неделю национальная валюта продемонстрировала разнонаправленную динамику: ослабление по отношению к доллару (-0.80%) и рублю (-1.40%), но укрепление по отношению к евро (+0.40%) и юаню (+0.53%). С начала года тенге ослаб по отношению к доллару на 10.50%, к рублю на 38.02%, к юаню на 2.79%, а к евро показал незначительное укрепление (+0.04%).

Недельная волатильность курса тенге к иностранным валютам незначительно снизилась: по отношению к доллару до 0.39%, к рублю до 0.78%. В основном ослабление национальной валюты происходило при низком объеме торгов на бирже.

Объем торгов парой USDKZT за прошедшую неделю уменьшился на 7.58% по сравнению с предыдущей (снижение на 34.0% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составил 372.95 млн долларов.

Индекс тенге

Индекс тенге снизился на 0.8% за неделю, на 13.3% с начала года и составил 78.67 пунктов.

Снижение Индекса обусловлено двойным давлением: со стороны растущего доллара и снижающихся нефтяных котировок.

Текущий уровень Индекса соответствует его значению в начале августа 2022 года, когда нефтяные котировки были на 4 доллара выше, а индекс доллара был равен 106.6 пунктов. Одной из явных причин текущего дисбаланса является евро, который ослаб с 485 тенге до 475 тенге. При этом основной причиной служит сохраняющаяся низкая эффективность внутреннего валютного рынка, когда на курсообразование тенге более существенное влияние оказывают внутренние факторы (валютные ожидания, соотношение спроса и предложения на валютном рынке, и др.), чем внешние.

При этом за последние 2 недели наблюдается усиление чувствительности курса тенге к изменению внешней конъюнктуры рынка, нежели это наблюдалось в летний сезон.

Мнение Jusan Analytics

За прошедшую неделю курс ослабился с 473 до 477 тенге за доллар. Это связано с ростом чувствительности курса на внешнюю конъюнктуру по сравнению с летним периодом. Низкие объемы торгов парой USDKZT и волатильность сигнализируют о наблюдаемых неопределенностях по валютным ожиданиям и выжидательной позиции участников рынка в ответ на высокое значение индекса доллара. С учетом текущих данных по меньшему, чем ожидалось, темпу замедления инфляции, ФРС на предстоящем заседании вероятнее всего будет более решительно повышать ставку, и тем самым способствовать усилению давления на валюты развивающихся стран и оттоку капитала.

Вместе с тем недавнее заявление министра энергетики о восстановлении работы Кашагана только к октябрю текущего года создает дополнительное давление со стороны внутренних факторов. В результате, по-нашему мнению, до конца года нет ярко выраженных оснований для разворота тренда ослабления национальной валюты.

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (12 – 16 сентября 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (12 – 16 сентября 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 12-16 қыркүйегі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 12-16 қыркүйегі)
Weekly Forex Review (September 12-16, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (September 12-16, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022

1 сентября 2022