Price barometer (July 2022)

Monthly inflation overview: causes, elements, forecasts

Main conclusions

 

 

Annual inflation continued to rise in July and amounted to 15%. The increase in consumer inflation occurred due to the rise in the cost of food and non-food productsThere is a slight softening of inflation pressure against the background of a global decline in prices for the main food groups. The current situation in the world food and energy markets reduces the likelihood of another acceleration of global inflation
World food prices decreased significantly compared to recent months – by 8.6% to 140.9 points in July. However, food prices are still higher than the values of the same period last year – by 13.1%The realization of most of the risks that were noted by the IMF in April 2022 led to an increase in global inflation forecasts for developing countries to 9.5% (+0.8 p.p. compared to the April forecast) and a decrease in global economic growth forecasts to 3.2% (-0.4 p.p.)
We can see a slowdown in monthly inflation in all components compared to previous periods. However, the current level of monthly inflation in Kazakhstan (+1.1%) remains higher than in the same period of last yearsHigh prices for consumer goods will have a restraining effect on the dynamics of consumer demand and shift its structure towards cheaper substitute goods
The food inflation level was 1.0% MoM (19.7% YoY). The slowdown in food inflation is provided by the disinflationary effect of the seasonal cheapening of vegetables and fruits, as well as a decrease in prices of agricultural producers against the background of the new harvest period comingThe ongoing geopolitical tensions and global monetary tightening, in conditions of high import dependence on domestic demand, have a pro-inflationary effect on the prices of non-food products through the exchange rate to domestic prices transfer effect
Despite the rise in the cost of energy sources in foreign markets, maintaining high growth rates of service inflation in terms of administrative restrictions creates space for imbalance accumulations. And this, in turn, may impact current expectations and future inflationA cautious monetary policy tightening creates conditions while the base rate can’t keep pace with the actual level of inflation, which leads to a negative level of the real interest rate. As a result, monetary conditions continue to have a stimulating effect on demand growth
The continued annual inflation acceleration and the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan’s opinion that the peak of inflation has not yet passed create prerequisites for another base rate increase. Otherwise, in addition to general economic factors, non-anchored inflation expectations will increase the overall inflation

Risks and prospects

There is a slight softening of inflation pressure against the background of a global decline in prices for the main food groups. The current situation in the world food and energy markets reduces the likelihood of another wave  of global inflation acceleration.

The realization of most of the risks that were noted by the IMF in April 2022 led to an increase in global inflation forecasts for developing countries to 9.5% (+0.8 p.p. compared to the April forecast) and a decrease in global economic growth forecasts to 3.2% (-0.4 p.p.)

Sufficiently high domestic prices for consumer goods will have a restraining effect on the dynamics of consumer demand and shift its structure towards cheaper goods.

The ongoing geopolitical tensions and the global monetary tightening have a pro-inflationary impact on the prices of non-food products. This is due to the high import dependence on domestic demand and through the exchange rate to domestic prices transfer effect

Despite the rise in the cost of energy in foreign markets, maintaining high growth rates of service inflation under non-monetary measures of the state to control inflation creates space for the accumulation of imbalances that can impact the trajectory of future inflation.

The trajectory of the base rate increase has not yet kept pace with the inflation growth, which leads to periodic negative rates in the economy. Such monetary terms do not create significant prerequisites for reducing the inflation contribution from the demand and lending.

 


 

Read more in the paper

Ценовой барометр (июль 2022) Ценовой барометр (июль 2022)
Баға барометрі (2022 шілде) Баға барометрі (2022 шілде)
Price barometer (July 2022) Price barometer (July 2022)
We recommend reading
2 December 2022

In July 2022 Jusan Analytics team has developed a dashboard for assessing current economic activity.

30 November 2022

Monthly inflation overview: causes, elements, forecasts

30 November 2022

As we expected, the growth of the short-term economic indicator for 10 months of 2022 continued to slow down and amounted to 3.1%. Growth for 9 months has reached 3.5%.

Ценовой барометр (июль 2022)

Ежемесячный обзор инфляции: причины, компоненты, прогнозы

Основные выводы

 

 

Годовая инфляция в июле продолжила рост и составила 15%. Рост потребительской инфляции произошел из-за удорожания продовольственных и непродовольственных товаровНаблюдается небольшое смягчение инфляционного давления на фоне общемирового снижения цен на основные продовольственные группы. Нынешняя ситуация на мировых продовольственных и энергетических рынках снижает вероятность очередного ускорения глобальной инфляции
В июле мировые продовольственные цены существенно снизились по сравнению с последними месяцами – на 8.6% до 140.9 пунктов. Однако продовольственные цены все еще выше значений аналогичного периода прошлого года – на 13.1%Реализация большинства рисков, которые были отмечены МВФ в апреле 2022, привела к повышению прогнозов по глобальной инфляции для развивающихся стран до 9.5% (+0.8 п.п. к апрельскому прогнозу) и снижению прогнозов по глобальному экономическому росту до 3.2% (-0.4 п.п.)
По сравнению с предыдущими периодами мы наблюдаем признаки замедления месячной инфляции по всем компонентам. Однако текущий уровень месячной инфляции в Казахстане (+1.1%) остается выше аналогичного периода прошлых летВысокие цены на потребительские товары будут оказывать сдерживающий эффект на динамику потребительского спроса и сдвигать его структуру в сторону более дешевых товаров субститутов
Уровень продовольственной инфляции составил 1.0% м/м (19.7% г/г). Замедление продовольственной инфляции обеспечено дезинфляционным эффектом сезонного удешевления овощей и фруктов, а также снижением цен сельскохозяйственных производителей на фоне наступления периода сбора нового урожаяСохраняющаяся геополитическая напряженность и глобальное ужесточение монетарных условий, в условиях высокой импортозависимости внутреннего спроса, оказывают проинфляционное влияние на цены непродовольственных товаров через эффект переноса обменного курса на внутренние цены
Сохранение высоких темпов роста сервисной инфляции в условиях действия административных ограничений, вопреки удорожанию энергоносителей на внешних рынках, создает пространство для накопления дисбалансов. Это в свою очередь может оказать влияние на текущие ожидания и будущую инфляциюОсторожное ужесточение монетарной политики создает условия, когда базовая ставка не успевает за фактическим уровнем инфляции, что приводит к отрицательному уровню реальной процентной ставки. В результате монетарные условия продолжают оказывать стимулирующий эффект на рост спроса
Продолжающееся ускорение годовой инфляции и мнение НБРК о том, что пик инфляции еще не пройден создают объективные предпосылки для очередного повышения базовой ставки. Иначе незаякоренные инфляционные ожидания будут увеличивать общую проинфляционность в дополнение к общеэкономическим факторам

Риски и перспективы

Наблюдается определенное сокращение инфляционного давления, которое происходит на фоне снижения цен по основным продовольственным товарам. Текущая ситуация на мировых продовольственных и энергетических рынках снижает вероятность возникновения новой волны ускорения глобальной инфляции.

Реализация большинства рисков, которые были отмечены МВФ в апреле 2022, привела к повышению прогнозов по глобальной инфляции для развивающихся стран до 9.5% (+0.8 п.п. к апрельскому прогнозу) с одновременным снижением прогнозов по глобальному экономическому росту до 3.2% (-0.4 п.п.).

Достаточно высокие внутренние цены на потребительские товары будут оказывать сдерживающий эффект на динамику потребительского спроса и сдвигать его структуру в сторону более дешевых товаров.

Продолжающаяся геополитическая напряженность и глобальное ужесточение монетарных условий оказывают проинфляционное влияние на цены непродовольственных товаров. Происходит это из-за высокой импортозависимости внутреннего спроса и через перенос обменного курса на внутренние цены

Сохранение высоких темпов роста сервисной инфляции в условиях действия немонетарных мер государства по контролю за инфляцией, вопреки удорожанию энергоносителей на внешних рынках, создает пространство для накопления дисбалансов, которые могут оказать негативное влияние на траекторию будущей инфляции.

Траектория увеличения базовой ставки пока не успевает за ростом инфляции, что приводит к периодическому возникновению в экономике отрицательных ставок. Подобные монетарные условия не создают значительных предпосылок для снижения вклада в инфляцию со стороны спроса и кредитования.

 


 

Подробнее читайте в документе

Ценовой барометр (июль 2022) Ценовой барометр (июль 2022)
Баға барометрі (2022 шілде) Баға барометрі (2022 шілде)
Price barometer (July 2022) Price barometer (July 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
2 декабря 2022

В июле 2022 года команда Jusan Analytics разработала дэшборд по оценке текущей экономической активности.

30 ноября 2022

Ежемесячный обзор инфляции: причины, компоненты, прогнозы

30 ноября 2022

За 10 месяцев 2022 года рост КЭИ, как мы и ожидали, продолжил замедление и составил 3.1%. Рост по итогам 9 месяцев достигал 3.5%.