Weekly Forex Review (August 22 – 27, 2022)

Over the past week, the tenge has shown strengthening positions against all traded currencies. Tenge strengthened by 1.75% against the dollar and the exchange rate was 468.10 tenge per dollar by the end of the week. It became stronger by 2.23% against the ruble and amounted to 7.89 tenge per ruble, against the yuan – by 2.69% to 68.12 tenge per yuan, against the euro – by 2.83% to 466.27 tenge per euro.

Thus, the national currency has strengthened against the US by 1.88% since the beginning of August (since the beginning of the year it has weakened by 8.41%).

There is an increase in the volatility of the tenge against the dollar. During the week under review, it was 1.0%, which is 0.9 p.p. more than last week.

Due to the big tax week, the USDKZT pair trading volume increased by 53.1% compared to the previous week (an increase of 22.4% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to $ 719.33 million. At the same time, the growth in trading volumes could potentially be higher. Exporters preferred to attract tenge liquidity to make tax payments on the money market rather than sell dollars at the current exchange rate. During the week under review, we could see an increase in trading volumes on the money market with a simultaneous increase in the TONIA rate from 13.5% a week earlier to 15.25% in the middle of the week under review.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

During the week, we have observed an increase in USDKZT pair trading volume due onset of the big tax week of exporters. At the same time, dynamics of the tenge exchange rate did not have a strong tendency to strengthen. The tenge exchange rate strengthened to the level of 461.98 tenge per dollar by the middle of the week, but it began to lose its position and weakened to the level of 468.1 tenge per dollar by the end of the week. There was an increase in money market trading simultaneously with the increase in the foreign exchange market activity, which in our opinion, can signify the evasion of exporters from converting foreign exchange earnings at the current rate since they expected the national currency to weaken.

The current domestic economic conditions contribute to the continuance of the observed exchange rate levels. However, external factors, the change of which should also affect the dynamics of the tenge exchange rate, indicate increased pressure on the national currency. Contrary to the signals of the economy cooling, the rhetoric of the US Federal Reserve about the likely monetary tightening indicates more growth of the global dollar than previously expected (our forecast for September-November has been adjusted).


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (22 – 27 августа 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (22 – 27 августа 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 22 – 27 тамызы) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 22 – 27 тамызы)
Weekly Forex Review (August 22 – 27, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 22 – 27, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

7 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (22 – 27 августа 2022 года)

За прошедшую неделю тенге показал усиление позиций по отношению ко всем торгуемым валютам. Тенге по отношению к доллару укрепился на 1.75% и концу недели курс составил 468.10 тенге за доллар. По отношению к рублю стал сильнее на 2.23% и составил 7.89 тенге за рубль, к юаню – на 2.69% до 68.12 тенге за юань, к евро – на 2.83% до 466.27 тенге за евро.

Таким образом, с начала августа национальная валюта укрепилась к американской на 1.88% (с начала года ослабла на 8.41%).

Отмечается рост волатильности курса тенге к доллару. За рассматриваемую неделю она составила 1.0%, что на 0.9 п.п. больше, чем на прошлой неделе.

Объем торгов парой USDKZT за счет большой налоговой недели возрос на 53.1% по сравнению с предыдущей неделей (рост на 22.4% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составил 719.33 млн долларов. При этом рост объемов торгов мог быть потенциально выше. Экспортеры предпочли привлекать тенговую ликвидность для осуществления налоговых выплат на денежном рынке, нежели продавать доллары по текущему курсу. За рассматриваемую неделю наблюдался рост объемов торгов на денежном рынке с одновременным увеличением ставки TONIA с 13.5% неделей ранее до 15.25% в середине рассматриваемой.

Мнение Jusan Analytics

В течении недели мы наблюдали увеличение объема торгов парой USDKZT благодаря наступлению большой налоговой недели экспортеров. При этом динамика курса тенге не имела ярко выраженной тенденции к укреплению. К середине недели курс тенге укрепился до уровня 461.98 тенге за доллар, но затем к концу недели начал терять достигнутые позиции и ослаб до уровня 468.1 тенге за доллар. Одновременно с увеличением активности на валютном рынке отмечался рост торгов и на денежном рынке, что, по нашему мнению, можно расценивать как уклонение экспортеров от конвертации валютной выручки при текущем курсе, так как они ожидали будущего ослабления национальной валюты.

Текущие внутриэкономические условия способствуют сохранению наблюдаемых уровней обменного курса. Однако внешние факторы, изменение которых также должно отражаться на динамике обменного курса тенге, указывают на усиление давления на национальную валюту. Риторика ФРС США о вероятном ужесточении монетарных условий, вопреки сигналам по охлаждению экономики, указывает на вероятный больший рост глобального доллара, чем это ожидалось ранее (немного скорректирован наш прогноз на сентябрь-ноябрь).


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (22 – 27 августа 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (22 – 27 августа 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 22 – 27 тамызы) Валюта нарығына апта сайынғы шолу (2022 жылдың 22 – 27 тамызы)
Weekly Forex Review (August 22 – 27, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (August 22 – 27, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022