Weekly Forex Review (July 11-15, 2022)

Over the past week, the national currency continued to decline against all traded currencies. During the week, the tenge weakened against the US dollar by 1.15% to 480.37 tenge, against the ruble by 8.16% to 8.35 tenge. The tenge has shown a weakening against the dollar by 2.13%, and a strengthening against the ruble by 7.2% (since the beginning of the year by 11.25% and 44.97%, respectively) since the beginning of the month.

Last week, there was a slight increase in the volatility of the USD KZT pair. We note that during the trading day, the exchange rate is weak on small volumes in the absence of a wide offer, but then after volumes on the supply side it began to strengthen. As a result, during the trading day, we could see quite sharp spike in the exchange rate and disproportionately distributed volumes.

As a result, the trading volume of the USDKZT pair over the past week increased by 57.6% relative to last week’s value (an increase of 7.0% compared to the average weekly trading volume in 2022) and amounted to $ 635 million.

Jusan Analytics Opinion

The weakening of the tenge is affected by changes in fundamental conditions such as prices for the main exported commodities, the global strengthening of the dollar, the growth of imports and outflows due to the observed peak of economic activity. Market participants have carried out a certain reassessment of internal and, to a greater extent, external conditions. All this is reflected in the equilibrium rate shift towards weakening. The excessive degree of weakening is added by household inflation expectations and a decrease in the attractiveness of tenge assets. In our view, without raising rates on tenge assets or anchoring inflation expectations, the pressure on tenge will increase, especially if the assessment of external conditions shifts to the negative side.

 


Read more in the paper

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (11-15 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (11-15 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 11-15 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 11-15 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (July 11-15, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (July 11-15, 2022)
We recommend reading
22 September 2022

14 September 2022

7 September 2022

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (11-15 июля 2022 года)

За прошедшую неделю национальная валюта продолжила снижение по отношению ко всем торгуемым валютам. За неделю тенге ослабился по отношению к доллару США на 1.15% до 480.37 тенге, к рублю на 8.16% до 8.35 тенге. С начала месяца тенге показал ослабление по отношению к доллару на 2.13%, а к рублю укрепление на 7.2% (с начала года на 11.25% и 44.97% соответственно).

На прошлой неделе наблюдался небольшой рост волатильности пары USDKZT. Отметим, что в течение торгового дня курс слаб на небольших объемах при отсутствии широкого предложения, но затем после появления объемов на стороне предложения начал укрепляться. В результате, в течение торгового дня можно было наблюдать довольно резкие скачки курса и непропорционально распределённые объемы.

В результате объемы торгов парой USDKZT за прошедшую неделю увеличились на 57.6% относительно значения прошлой недели (увеличение на 7.0% по сравнению со средним недельным объемом торгов в 2022 году) и составили 635 млн долларов.

Мнение Jusan Analytics:

На ослабление тенге влияет изменение фундаментальных условий: цены по основным экспортируемым сырьевым товарам, общемировое укрепление доллара, рост импорта и оттоков в связи с наблюдаемым пиком экономической активности. Участники рынка провели определенную переоценку внутренних и, в большей степени, внешних условий. Все это отражается на сдвиге равновесного курса в сторону ослабления. Избыточную степень ослабления добавляют инфляционные ожидания населения и снижение привлекательности тенговых активов. Без повышения ставок по тенговым активам или заякорения инфляционных ожиданий, на наш взгляд, давление на тенге будет усиливаться, особенно при смещении оценки внешних условий в негативную сторону.


Подробнее читайте в документе

Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (11-15 июля 2022 года) Еженедельный обзор валютного рынка (11-15 июля 2022 года)
Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 11-15 шілдесі) Валюта нарығына апталық шолу (2022 жылдың 11-15 шілдесі)
Weekly Forex Review (July 11-15, 2022) Weekly Forex Review (July 11-15, 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
22 сентября 2022

14 сентября 2022

7 сентября 2022