Price barometer (September 2022)

Monthly inflation overview: causes, elements, forecasts

Main conclusions

The observed global tightening of monetary conditions is still weakly coping with the inflation slowdown, but it can significantly affect economic growth and reduce aggregate demandThe increased inflationary background in the economy will remain as long as the changes in supply and demand are out of sync
Inflation reached 17.7% by the end of September, all its components made a significant contribution. The growth of core inflation and its acceleration indicates a more stable nature of inflationAccording to a survey of the population from the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan, household inflation expectations have worsened and may cause further acceleration of consumer inflation. At the same time, the main reason for their deterioration is the opinion of respondents about a further significant increase in food prices
This year, the seasonal cheapening for fruits and vegetables is longer than usual. Prices for other groups of food products show acceleration due to higher producer prices against the background of increased production costsDouble-digit price growth, together with no signs of stabilization, is the reason for the slowdown in the growth of domestic trade as the main indicator of consumption. The simultaneous increase in the deposit base indicates the formation of savings behaviour among a certain part of the population to create a “safety airbag” in the conditions of economic and geopolitical turbulence
There is an outspoken asymmetry of regional inflationary processes in September. A more significant increase in inflation is noticed in the northern, eastern and central regions of the country. And the regional inflation rate is significantly lower in the south and west of KazakhstanNo signs of stabilization in internal inflationary processes, along with frequently changing external conditions, serve as prerequisites for maintaining increased inflationary pressure until the end of this year

 


 

Read more in the paper

Ценовой барометр (сентябрь 2022) Ценовой барометр (сентябрь 2022)
Баға барометрі (2022 қыркүйек) Баға барометрі (2022 қыркүйек)
Price barometer (September 2022) Price barometer (September 2022)
We recommend reading
2 December 2022

В июле 2022 года команда Jusan Analytics разработала дэшборд по оценке текущей экономической активности.

30 November 2022

Ежемесячный обзор инфляции: причины, компоненты, прогнозы

30 November 2022

As we expected, the growth of the short-term economic indicator for 10 months of 2022 continued to slow down and amounted to 3.1%. Growth for 9 months has reached 3.5%.

Ценовой барометр (сентябрь 2022)

Ежемесячный обзор инфляции: причины, компоненты, прогнозы

Основные выводы

Наблюдаемое глобальное ужесточение монетарных условий пока слабо справляется с замедлением роста инфляции, но может ощутимо повлиять на экономический рост, снижая совокупный спросДо тех пор, пока изменения спроса и предложения будут рассинхронизированы, повышенный инфляционный фон в экономике будет сохраняться
Инфляция по итогам сентября достигла 17.7%, все ее компоненты внесли значительный вклад. Рост базовой инфляции и ее ускорение говорит о более устойчивом характере инфляцииПо данным опроса населения от НБРК, инфляционные ожидания населения ухудшились и могут стать причиной дальнейшего ускорения потребительской инфляции. При этом основной причиной их ухудшения является мнение респондентов о дальнейшем значительном росте цен на продукты питания
В текущем году сезонное удешевление цен на фрукты и овощи продолжается дольше обычного. Цены на остальные группы продовольственных товаров показывают ускорение за счет повышения цен производителей на фоне увеличения затрат на производствоДвузначный рост цен вместе с отсутствием признаков стабилизации является причиной замедления роста внутренней торговли, как основного индикатора потребления. Одновременное увеличение депозитной базы говорит о формировании сберегательного поведения у определенной части населения  для создания «подушки безопасности» в условиях экономической и геополитической турбулентности
В сентябре наблюдается выраженная асимметрия региональных инфляционных процессов. Более значительный рост инфляции отмечается в северной, восточной и центральной регионах страны. На юге и западе Казахстана региональный уровень инфляции ощутимо нижеОтсутствие признаков стабилизации во внутренних инфляционных процессах, наряду с часто меняющимися внешними условиями служат предпосылками для сохранения повышенного инфляционного давления до конца текущего года

 


 

Подробнее читайте в документе

Ценовой барометр (сентябрь 2022) Ценовой барометр (сентябрь 2022)
Баға барометрі (2022 қыркүйек) Баға барометрі (2022 қыркүйек)
Price barometer (September 2022) Price barometer (September 2022)
Рекомендуем почитать
2 декабря 2022

В июле 2022 года команда Jusan Analytics разработала дэшборд по оценке текущей экономической активности.

30 ноября 2022

Ежемесячный обзор инфляции: причины, компоненты, прогнозы

30 ноября 2022

За 10 месяцев 2022 года рост КЭИ, как мы и ожидали, продолжил замедление и составил 3.1%. Рост по итогам 9 месяцев достигал 3.5%.